With A Whole Heart

Today is Friday, September 30, 2016. Last day of September! Fourteen days until Galveston!!

Quote of the Day

“To live is the rarest thing in the world. Most people exist, that is all. – Oscar Wilde

Word of the Day

Testudinal – pertaining to or resembling a tortoise or tortoise shell.

Today is International Podcast Day. My favorite podcast (and I admit that I have only heard a few, to this date) is “Welcome To Night Vale.”

Two weeks from right now, we will be getting ready to head to the airport to pick up our rental van for our Galveston trip. (It is just after 6:00 AM as I write this.) Two weeks from tonight, the ALCS will begin. I’m still hoping to see Texas and Boston in that series.

Boston lost again to the Yankees last night. They start a three game series tonight, at Fenway, against the Boo Jays. Last series of the year. Doesn’t matter for Boston, does matter for the Boo Jays. I’m really hoping that Boston can sweep them and knock them out of the playoffs. The Boo Jays and Orioles are tied in the wild card spot, with Detroit just 1.5 games behind them. This last weekend could make all the difference. The Tigers got rained out last night, and will, if necessary, play the makeup game on Monday.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Come and see what God has done: he is awesome in his deeds toward the children of man. Psalm 66:5
Wondrously show your steadfast love, O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.
Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings
Psalm 17:7-8
Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success!
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.
Psalm 118:25-26

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Blessed are those who keep his testimonies, who seek him with their whole heart,
who also do no wrong, but walk in his ways!
You have commanded your precepts to be kept diligently.
Oh that my ways may be steadfast in keeping your statutes!
Then I shall not be put to shame, having my eyes fixed on all your commandments.
I will praise you with an upright heart, when I learn your righteous rules.
I will keep your statutes; do not utterly forsake me!
Psalm 119:2-8

This law of God is not a set of rules “to keep us religious” or moral. “It is ‘the whole counsel of God,’ which creates, preserves, and redeems.” Our only suitable response is to seek him and praise him with our whole heart. “A total revelation requires a total response.”

“Father, you have anticipated everything that I need and have given me wise words of command, instruction, and comfort to surround every circumstance. As I listen and believe, accomplish your will in me for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

“Grapes become wine only when they have been squeezed.” – Oswald Chambers

Father, I desire to seek you with my whole heart; I desire to delight in your testimonies, your law, your precepts, your commandments! But my heart continues to be divided. Unite my heart to fear your name. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth. Dare I ask you to squeeze me? I won’t ask for that; rather, I will ask that, when you do choose to squeeze, I will not attempt to squirm out of your grasp.

Come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

