I Cling To Your Word

Today is Monday, October 3, 2016. Eleven days until Galveston!!

Quote of the Day

“Soul meets soul on lovers’ lips.” – Percy Bysshe Shelley

Word of the Day

DruthersInformal. one’s own way, choice, or preference: If I had my druthers, I’d dance all night.

Today is World Day of Bullying Prevention. There’s nothing funny about bullying, and it has always been a problem, especially in schools. I was only the victim of bullying once or twice that I can remember, but that was probably because I had my band friends with me almost all the time. And bullying has really taken an ugly turn with the advent of social media technology. This day was started because some poor kid wore a pink shirt to school one day. A group of bullies gave him a hard time about it. Two other young men noticed and went and bought 50 pink shirts to take to school the next day, encouraging people to take a stand against bullying.

I’m writing this later than usual because I’m not going to work today. Sadly, I developed a case of cellulitis over the weekend. It started Saturday night, during our Night of Worship. I began feeling a burning sensation just above my left ankle. When I raised my pant leg, there was a hot red spot, about the size of a dollar coin, that felt like a severe sunburn. That part doesn’t hurt as much today, but the skin has gotten pink all around there, and is warm to the touch. I am familiar with this stuff, as I have had it several times in the past. I’ll be going to the doctor shortly before noon today. Some good antibiotics should take care of it by the end of the week.

So the regular season of baseball is over, and no make up game is necessary today. The way things worked out, yesterday, Cleveland won and the Red Sox lost, so Cleveland has home field advantage for their ALDS series. The Rangers already had home field advantage for theirs. Detroit lost their game, and both Baltimore and Toronto won, so the Tigers lost out on the wild card. The Orioles and Boo Jays will play their wild card game tomorrow, to determine who will play the Rangers on Thursday. I’m an Orioles fan for one day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
Psalm 95:1-2
O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob! Selah. Psalm 84:8

(From Praying With the Psalms)

My soul clings to the dust; give me life according to your word!
When I told of my ways, you answered me; teach me your statutes!
Make me understand the way of your precepts, and I will meditate on your wondrous works.
My soul melts away for sorrow; strengthen me according to your word!
Put false ways far from me and graciously teach me your law!
I have chosen the way of faithfulness; I set your rules before me.
I cling to your testimonies, O LORD; let me not be put to shame!
Psalm 119:25-31

When we are in despair, we should embrace the Word of God as our salvation. We will not be disappointed. “God gives hope to the downhearted and strength to the weak.”

“O God, forgive me for looking in all the wrong places for refreshment and renewal–I waste so much time trying out the promises of other people. I return to your promises and find what I need: forgiveness and counsel and command, even in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I have experienced despair in this world (not recently, but I can remember). Thank you for always providing hope and strength through your Word and through your Holy Spirit. Today, I pray a selfish prayer and ask that you would heal the cellulitis in my legs. May your will be done on earth as in heaven. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus.

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

