The Disposition of Sin

Today is Tuesday, October 4, 2016. TEN more days until Galveston!!!

Quote of the Day

“If you want to be a writer-stop talking about it and sit down and write!” ― Jackie Collins
I chose that quote because it is true about mostly anything in life. If you want to do something, stop talking about it and do it.

Word of the Day

Potboiler – a mediocre work of literature or art produced merely for financial gain. For example, books written from movie screenplays after the movie has been released. Or even fan-fiction that somehow manages to get published.

Today is Vodka Day. Vodka is made from potatoes; potatoes are vegetables; vodka is a vegetable. I know . . . potatoes aren’t technically “vegetables.” And neither are tomatoes. See what you’ve done? Now, I’m off track.

I had my doctor visit yesterday, which took longer than expected. The office has “upgraded” their system, and it took them 45 minutes just to get me checked in. By that time, I was already 30 minutes late for my appointment! But they got me in pretty quickly, once they got me checked in. The nurse who took me back said that she wished they had had more training on the new system. I got apologized and thanked for my patience (note the correct spelling of that word) at least five times! I still had to pay full price for my visit, though. In my opinion, that is something that really needs to change. If it’s not my fault I’m late, I should get a discount for time wasted in their office. It should at least equal what I make at work, per hour.

The Rangers have gotten a raw deal in the playoff game scheduling. It turns out that MLB and the networks have collaborated and given the Rangers day games for both Friday and Saturday, while the Red Sox and Indians get the night games. Wait . . . all four ALDS games occur on Friday, and the Red Sox get afternoon, as well. The Cubs get the night game. The Rangers have the best record in the AL, so they should get the night game, at least on Thursday. But it’s all about the money, you see, and the networks don’t think the Rangers will draw a big enough viewing audience. So they put the Red Sox on at night on Thursday, and the Cubs at night on Friday. But that makes sense, because the Cubs have the best record in MLB. I’ll get off my soapbox, now.

Oops. I forgot about the results of the doctor visit. I got a shot of some antibiotic. I don’t remember what he said. And then some Bactrim pills to take for ten days. And I’m supposed to keep my feet elevated as much as possible, which will not be possible at work.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Sing praises to the LORD, who sits enthroned in Zion! Tell among the peoples his deeds! Psalm 9:11
May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. Psalm 67:1
Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me. If you had known me, you would have known my Father also. From now on you do know him and have seen him.” John 14:6-7

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I will run in the way of your commandments when you enlarge my heart! Psalm 119:32

“God’s commandments are not a tortured path to crawl along, nor a narrow trail to cling to, but a wide smooth path to run on: ‘In the sun born over and over, I ran my heedless ways’ (Dylan Thomas, ‘Fern Hill’).”

“How glorious, O God, to find that your commands do not oppress or restrict or cramp but set me free in a life of lightness and openness in Christ, in whose name I give thanks. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Therefore, just as sin came into the world through one man, and death through sin, and so death spread to all men because all sinned. Romans 5:12

It is important to know that God does not punish the human race for this one man’s sin. That is not what is happening. It is the disposition of sin, or “my claim to my right to myself,” that we inherited from that one man. “The disposition of sin is not immorality and wrong-doing, but the disposition of self-realization–I am my own god.” When Jesus faced people, both “evil” and “good” alike, he paid no attention to their works. “He looked at something we do not see, viz., the disposition.”

I am born with sin; I cannot touch it; only God can touch it in redemption, which came in the form of the cross of Christ. Here’s where it gets interesting. God does not hold us responsible for the “heredity of sin.” He has dealt with that on the cross. “The condemnation is not that I am born with a heredity of sin, but if when I realize Jesus Christ came to deliver me from it, I refuse to let Him do so, from that moment I begin to get the seal of damnation.”

Father, thank you for the deliverance from this disposition of sin. Yet, as you know, it creeps back in, from time to time, and I begin to believe that I have a right to myself. I pray that you continue to work within me to remove this completely. I pray for the ability to walk in the easy yoke of Christ, to believe what he said, and to put his words into practice in my life. In this way, I display that the Kingdom of God is real, here, and available now.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

