A Hereditary Disposition

Today is Wednesday, October 5. NINE days until Galveston!!

I’m skipping the trivial stuff this morning, because I’m going to work early. Our systems were totally down yesterday, from about 8:30 until we finally left, between 2:00 and 2:30. So we are all trying to get in early this morning. I think one or two might even already be there.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. Psalm 67:1
In you, O LORD, do I take refuge; let me never be put to shame; in your righteousness deliver me! Psalm 31:1

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Teach me, O LORD, the way of your statutes; and I will keep it to the end.
Give me understanding, that I may keep your law and observe it with my whole heart.
Lead me in the path of your commandments, for I delight in it.
Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain!
Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.
Confirm to your servant your promise, that you may be feared.
Turn away the reproach that I dread, for your rules are good.
Behold, I long for your precepts; in your righteousness give me life!
Psalm 119:33-40

Where do we satiate our thirst for knowledge and wisdom? Not in colleges and universities, but in God. “God teaches us our origins in his love and our destiny in his redemption.”

“‘Savior, teach me, day by day, love’s sweet lesson, to obey; sweeter lesson cannot be, loving Him who first loved me. . . . Teach me thus Thy steps to trace, strong to follow in Thy grace, learning how to love from Thee, loving Him who first loved me’ (Jane Lesson, ‘Savior, Teach Me Day by Day’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

But when he who had set me apart before I was born, and who called me by his grace, was pleased to reveal his Son to me, in order that I might preach him among the Gentiles, I did not immediately consult with anyone. Galatians 1:15-16

Jesus Christ is the one who regenerates. When he does so, he puts into a person his own hereditary disposition. I have a hereditary disposition of sin, and can do nothing about it. I cannot be holy, and did not desire to be. “Redemption means that Jesus Christ can put into any man the hereditary disposition that was in Himself, and all the standards He gives are based on that disposition: His teaching is fro the life He puts in. The moral transaction on my part is agreement with God’s verdict on sin in the Cross of Jesus Christ.”

When we recognize our need, God puts the Holy Spirit within us and we will “be energized by the Spirit of the Son of God, ‘until Christ be formed in you.'”

Father, I thank you and praise you that Jesus has placed this “hereditary disposition” within me, and that you have given the Holy Spirit to inhabit us and work this out until Jesus Christ be formed in me. May your Spirit continue to drive me toward practice of the disciplines until every thing that displeases you is eradicated from my life and I am walking fully in your Kingdom, in the easy yoke of Jesus Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

