As the Ruin Falls

Today is Thursday, October 6, 2016. EIGHT days until Galveston!!!

Once again, I’m having to skip the quotes and words portion of today’s blog, as I need to go to work early again. Hopefully, this will be the last day. I think we were finally up to yesterday’s stuff when I left at 4:30. I would have stayed and worked later, but the batteries in our thermostat had died and the A/C was completely off. It was 82 degrees in the house when I got home. But all is okay, now.

Real quickly, the real playoffs begin today, now that the faux playoff wild card games are over. The Rangers will be playing the Boo Jays at 3:30 PM, and the Red Sox will play the Indians at 7:00 PM.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

But we will bless the LORD from this time forth and forevermore. Praise the LORD! Psalm 115:18
You are a hiding place for me; you preserve me from trouble; you surround me with shouts of deliverance. Selah. Psalm 32:7
Behold, God is my helper; the Lord is the upholder of my life. Psalm 54:4

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let your steadfast love come to me, O LORD, your salvation according to your promise;
then shall I have an answer for him who taunts me, for I trust in your word.
And take not the word of truth utterly out of my mouth, for my hope is in your rules.
I will keep your law continually, forever and ever,
and I shall walk in a wide place, for I have sought your precepts.
I will also speak of your testimonies before kings and shall not be put to shame,
for I find my delight in your commandments, which I love.
I will lift up my hands toward your commandments, which I love, and I will meditate on your statutes.
Psalm 119:41-48

When Jesus summarized all of the law, he told us to love God and love our neighbors. The psalmist finds great delight in the very law that Jesus summarized. Do we only believe in Jesus, or do we also believe Jesus?

“O God, your love creates me, redeems me, and commands me. May all my responses to you be shaped in love, for the sake of Jesus Christ who first love me. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. 2 Corinthians 5:21

“Sin is a fundamental relationship; it is not wrong doing, it is wrong being, deliberate and emphatic independence of God.” Christianity bases everything on this nature of sin. There are many other religions (some even within the spectrum of Christianity, sadly) that deal with sins, but only the Bible deals with sin. It is all about transformation of the human nature of sin; changing the heredity.

We cannot redeem ourselves. Redemption is God’s job, and it is finished. It is up to us to act; we have a responsibility in our part of it.

Father, help me to live up to my part of the responsibility in this relationship. You have done the redeeming; Redemption is complete! Hallelujah! But is up to me to “work out my salvation,” to practice those disciplines that will open the way for you to transform me into a true disciple. I pray for your assistance in this, as I cannot do it alone. In the words of C.S. Lewis:

“All this is flashy rhetoric about loving you.
I never had a selfless thought since I was born.
I am mercenary and self-seeking through and through:
I want God, you, all friends, merely to serve my turn.

Peace, re-assurance, pleasure, are the goals I seek,
I cannot crawl one inch outside my proper skin:
I talk of love –a scholar’s parrot may talk Greek–
But, self-imprisoned, always end where I begin.

Only that now you have taught me (but how late) my lack.
I see the chasm. And everything you are was making
My heart into a bridge by which I might get back
From exile, and grow man. And now the bridge is breaking.

For this I bless you as the ruin falls. The pains
You give me are more precious than all other gains.”

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

