Wish vs Hope

It is Friday, October 7, 2016. SEVEN days until Galveston!!

Quote of the Day

“The one thing we can never get enough of is love. And the one thing we never give enough is love.” – Henry Miller

Word of the Day
Etymology – the derivation of a word. Also, a chronological account of the birth and development of a particular word or element of a word, often delineating its spread from one language to another and its evolving changes in form and meaning.

Today is World Smile Day. Seriously, do you have any idea what a simple smile can do for someone’s day? I have smiled at the people in the McDonald’s drive through, and they instantly light up. Try it today. Smile at everyone. It’s infectious.

I’m feeling better, over all, this morning, than I have all week. I’m still not sleeping well, though, for some reason. I sleep fine, until I have to get up to use the bathroom, then it seems fitful the rest of the night. I had a headache this morning, so I took some ibuprofen. Last night was the first night this week that I didn’t have to take some due to feeling feverish. There is still some redness in my leg, but over-all, it’s better. I have noticed some new swelling in that leg, though, so I’ve ordered some compression hose. Seriously, I’ve got to start taking better care of myself.

Now that you have way more information than you wanted, I’ll talk about baseball. Not much, though, because it was not a good day. Unless you root for the Boo Jays and the Indians. The Rangers, except for Elvis Andrus, did NOT show up for yesterday’s game at all. Cole Hamels was bloody awful, giving up five runs in the top of the third, and then for reasons that God Himself might not even understand, Banister chose to bring him back in for the top of the fourth, whereupon he promptly gave up two more runs. 7-0 in the fourth. It stayed 7-0 until the ninth (Claudio pitched brilliantly for a few innings), when Joey Bats launched a three-run homer. Elvis, the long Ranger, hit a triple in the bottom of the ninth, and then Choo drove him in with a fielder’s choice, so they didn’t get shut out. Final score 10-1. On my drive home from work, Eric Nadel, the voice of the Texas Rangers, reminded us that the Rangers lost game one of the 2011 ALDS, 9-0, to the Rays. They went to the World Series that year. Also, they are 1-10 in home games during ALDS. That’s just crazy weird. Game two today at noon.

The Red Sox fared some better, and were even ahead for a bit, but wound up losing 5-4 to the Indians. Mostly because Porcello had a Cole Hamels moment in the third inning and gave up three home runs, two of them back to back. Game two today at 3:30 PM.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things! His right hand and his holy arm have worked salvation for him. Psalm 98:1
Let your steadfast love comfort me according to your promise to your servant.
Let your mercy come to me, that I may live; for your law is my delight.
Psalm 119:76-77
I will give thanks to you, O LORD, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations.
For your steadfast love is great above the heavens; your faithfulness reaches to the clouds.
Psalm 108:3-4
So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Remember your word to your servant, in which you have made me hope.
This is my comfort in my affliction, that your promise gives me life.
The insolent utterly deride me, but I do not turn away from your law.
When I think of your rules from of old, I take comfort, O LORD.
Hot indignation seizes me because of the wicked, who forsake your law.
Psalm 119:49-53

What’s the difference between a wish and a hope? A wish is something that we think will make us happy. “A hope is what we believe God will do to fulfill our lives.” Wishes are fantasies; hope comes from promises.

“Almighty God, I listen to your promises. Teach me to live in hope. I want you to perfect your love and complete your redemption in me. Thank you, O Lord of hope. Amen.”

Father, teach me to live in hope, rather than the fantasy of wishes. I trust in you; I trust in Jesus. My desire is to walk/run in the path of your commands, working out the words of Jesus in my life. Help me to walk in hope in your Kingdom, stepping into the easy yoke of Christ. You bid me come to you. That is all you ask. I will do that.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

