The Firm Foundation

Today is Saturday, October 8, 2016. SIX days until Galveston!!!

Quote of the Day

“There are books so alive that you’re always afraid that while you weren’t reading, the book has gone and changed, has shifted like a river.” ― Marina Tsvetaeva

Word of the Day

Stiver – the smallest possible amount: not worth a stiver; not a stiver of work.

Today is World Octopus Day. Give some love to our eight-legged, um, tentacled friends. And make sure you don’t accidentally hug a squid.

Yesterday was weird. I felt great most of the morning. The best that had felt all week, in fact. But by the time I left work, I was feeling less than great. Not horrible, but just an over all kind of “bleah” feeling. I’m sure you know what I mean. Plus I had to work late, and that’s all I’m going to say about that. I got home and took my antibiotic pill, and then, around 8:00, I gave in and took an ibuprofen pill. That helped a lot (that stuff is amazing), and I slept better last night than I have all week. This morning, I feel okay, perhaps better. I also got my compression hose and have put them on, this morning. Hopefully, that will help the swelling.

Yesterday was another bad day for baseball (unless you are rooting for the Indians and Boo Jays). The Rangers lost 5-3, and the Red Sox lost 6-0. At least the Red Sox get to play back home tomorrow, but they have Buchholz on the mound, who has been terribly inconsistent all season. The Rangers have to play in Toronto, and the PTBs have decided that Colby Lewis is their best choice. I could not possibly disagree more. He has been pretty bad since he came back from the DL, and I do not think he will beat Toronto in Toronto. My hopes for a Rangers/Red Sox ALCS are being ruthlessly crushed. On the plus side, my wife says that God must be arranging things so that we don’t have to worry about baseball while we’re in Galveston. Haha. Sob.

I plan to do a whole lot of nothing today. We’ll see if I can pull that off.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man!
For he satisfies the longing soul, and the hungry soul he fills with good things.
Psalm 107:8-9
Give ear to my words, O LORD; consider my groaning. Psalm 5:1

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning.
I remember your name in the night, O LORD, and keep your law.
This blessing has fallen to me, that I have kept your precepts.
Psalm 119:54-56

“The psalmist made a song book out of the commandments. And what happy tunes he must have set them to! And how many must have been glad to join him in his singing! Have God’s commands ever been enjoyed as much as these?”

“Praise your great name, O God! You have given me such joy in obedience, such happiness in righteousness. Your words delight my heart, while songs spring up unbidden as I walk your paths. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Do not present your members to sin as instruments for unrighteousness, but present yourselves to God as those who have been brought from death to life, and your members to God as instruments for righteousness. Romans 6:13

“I cannot save and sanctify myself; I cannot atone for sin; I cannot redeem the world; I cannot make right what is wrong, pure what is impure, holy what is unholy. That is all the sovereign work of God.” Do we have faith in what Jesus Christ has done in the Atonement? Do we work on constantly realizing this? “The great need is not do do things, but to believe things.” We say we believe in Jesus, but do we believe Jesus?? Do I believe what he said? I must act on that belief. I must put the words of my Savior into practice. I cannot simply sit here and say that I believe in Jesus. I must believe his words and make them part of my life. It is no longer enough to believe that the Beatitudes are just nice platitudes that would be great “in a perfect world.” The Beatitudes are the life that I am supposed to be living in the “easy yoke” of Jesus Christ!

“The Redemption of Christ is not an experience, it is the great act of God which He has performed through Christ, and I have to build my faith upon it.” If I am not acting, I am not building. If my faith simply states that I believe in Jesus, it will not build, it will not grow, and God will do nothing with me or my life. If I act on the words of Jesus, and work out those spiritual disciplines, I will place myself in position to be greatly and mightily used of God.

But I cannot do it myself, without the realization of the Atonement. That must be the foundation.

Father, I feel so close, yet so far away. I am on the verge of something great, but my flesh is still strong. Help me to study and work the disciplines, so that I can create good, Godly habits to replace old, worldly habits. I want to be in position for your blessing; I want to be in position for you to use me for your glory, to do mighty things in your Kingdom. Not to us, but to your name be the glory.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

