Soaking, Not Worrying

Today is Monday, October 10, 2016. FOUR more days until Galveston!!

Quote of the Day

“There are more people who wish to be loved than there are who are willing to love.” – Nicolas Chamfort

Word of the Day

Dilatory – tending to delay or procrastinate; slow; tardy.

Today is World Mental Health Day. Since our oldest daughter is in that profession, I chose this to highlight, over a number of other possibilities. Current statistics indicate that one in four people will experience some kind of mental health issue during their lifetime.

There is no joy in Mudville, the might Casey has struck out. There’s plenty of joy in Toronto, as they completed their sweep of the Rangers last night, scoring in the bottom of the tenth inning to win what had been a well-fought game. It was really the only game the Rangers were truly in, and they even led for a half -inning, 6-5. It would be very easy to point some fingers and blame people, but I’m not going to do that. I’ll keep my opinions to myself. The Rangers had a great year and made the playoffs. 22 other teams can’t say that. Or 20, if you count that wild card game as “playoffs,” which I don’t.

The Red Sox and Indians got rained out in Boston, so they will play tonight at 5:00. I’m hoping the Sox can stay alive and win this game.

I seem to have had a setback in my cellulitis fight. I was feeling great yesterday morning; in fact, the best I had felt all week. But by late afternoon, yesterday, I was feeling feverish again. At 6:00, I took my Bactrim and an ibuprofen pill. At 8:00, I decided to check my temperature, and it read 99.5, which was discouraging, especially two hours after taking some ibuprofen. This morning, there is no fever, but my leg hurts a little worse. The over-all pinkness is still better than it was, though. I just don’t understand why I felt so good Sunday morning, and now this. I’ll be calling the doctor after I get to work, this morning.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Bless the LORD, O you his angels, you mighty ones who do his word, obeying the voice of his word!
Bless the LORD, all his hosts, his ministers, who do his will!
Bless the LORD, all his works, in all places of his dominion. Bless the LORD, O my soul!
Psalm 103:20-22
May all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you! May those who love your salvation say evermore, “God is great!” Psalm 70:4
O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me.
O LORD, you have brought up my soul from Sheol; you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit.
Psalm 30:2-3

(From Praying With the Psalms)

You have dealt well with your servant, O LORD, according to your word.
Teach me good judgment and knowledge, for I believe in your commandments.
Before I was afflicted I went astray, but now I keep your word.
You are good and do good; teach me your statutes.
The insolent smear me with lies, but with my whole heart I keep your precepts;
their heart is unfeeling like fat, but I delight in your law.
It is good for me that I was afflicted, that I might learn your statutes.
The law of your mouth is better to me than thousands of gold and silver pieces.
Psalm 119:65-72

Sometimes, the setbacks that we experience are designed to correct us from a wayward path and bring us back into dependence on God’s will. “The ancient Greeks had a saying that reinforces the psalmist’s experience: ‘Suffered things are learned things.'”

“If suffering comes my way, O God, may I receive it as a means of being drawn closer to you, of learning your love, of discovering your mercy, of trusting your will, even as so many of your children have learned your ways through the school of humility. Amen.”

“Let God’s truth work in you by soaking in it, not by worrying into it.” (Oswald Chambers, My Utmost for His Highest)

Father, this quote resonates with what I have been reading from Dallas Willard. It is when I finally come to a point when I believe the words of Jesus to be absolute truth, and then act upon those words in faith, that I will understand, and then your truth will begin to work in me. All the books that have been written about you and Jesus and the Holy Spirit will not help me one iota if I am not obedient to the words you speak. Speak to me, Father, in whatever way you choose. Open my ears that I may hear, and then direct me to obedience in the power of the Holy Spirit.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Soaking, Not Worrying

  1. Chamfort’s comment reminds me (in negative form) of St. Francis’ Prayer to “not so much seek to be loved as to love.” How that’ll help the Sox, I’m not sure, but there ya go. ;>)

Leave a Reply

