The Silence of God

Today is Tuesday, October 11, 2016. THREE more days until Galveston!!!

Quote of the Day

“But surely for everything you have to love you have to pay some price.” – Agatha Christie

Word of the Day

Great Scott – Expressing surprise, amazement, annoyance, admiration, etc.

Today is Face Your Fears Day. What is your fear? For some, this would require climbing (or riding an elevator) to the top of a tall building and walking out toward the edge of the roof. For some, it would require look a spider in the eye. Or . . . eyes. For me? I guess I need to wait for a train to come by so I can sit at the front of the line while it goes by. You see, my greatest fear is being first in line when the train de-rails.

Obviously, I’m not at work again, today. I am choosing to take a day of (without pay) to rest and keep my leg elevated as much as possible. The doctor sent in a round of different antibiotics, yesterday, and my boss graciously agreed to let me have today off. He told me, in fact, that he was surprised that I came to work last Tuesday. He remembers when I had this stuff before, and I took two days in a row. Anyway, the doctor gave me Clindamycin, an antibiotic used to treat “serious bacterial infections.” Three times a day for ten days, at which point, we will be in Galveston.

Which reminded me to check up on the “flesh-eating bacteria” situation. Apparently, as long as you don’t have any open wounds, you’ll be okay. I probably won’t chance getting in the water, though, if the cellulitis is still active. And I think we still have some beach shoes from our last trip, which I will be sure to wear when we go walking on the beach.

As far as I am concerned, baseball season is over. The Cleveland Indians completed their sweep of the Red Sox, last night, beating them 4-3 in a well-fought game. At least two of the three games were decent games, being one run decisions. I’m disappointed, but, just as I did when the Rangers lost, I refuse to engage in blame and finger-pointing. I certainly have questions and opinions, but will keep them to myself. Anyone who knows me just fainted in shock. The Indians will face the Boo Jays in the ALCS. The NLCS is yet to be decided, as the Giants stayed alive last night by beating the Cubs. The Cubs lead that series 2-1, and the Nats lead the Dodgers 2-1 in their series. I will keep up with how things progress, but will likely not watch any more games. I know. “True” baseball fans watch all the games, right? Not me. I’m a fan, but if my teams aren’t involved, I simply don’t care.

What’s my plan for today? Leg propped up in the corner chair, and a lot of Netflix. And maybe some reading, too.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
Psalm 95:1-2
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words. Psalm 119:147
But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. Psalm 13:5
The heavens are yours; the earth also is yours; the world and all that is in it, you have founded them. Psalm 89:11

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Your hands have made and fashioned me; give me understanding that I may learn your commandments.
Those who fear you shall see me and rejoice, because I have hoped in your word.
I know, O LORD, that your rules are righteous, and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.
Let your steadfast love comfort me according to your promise to your servant.
Let your mercy come to me, that I may live; for your law is my delight.
Let the insolent be put to shame, because they have wronged me with falsehood; as for me, I will meditate on your precepts.
Let those who fear you turn to me, that they may know your testimonies.
May my heart be blameless in your statutes, that I may not be put to shame!
Psalm 119:73-80

Do you think of God’s law as a “ponderous legal document, passionless and abstract?” Perhaps it would be good to look further. “Law is not an abstraction of God’s essence into books, but the personalization of his will among men. The characteristic words associated with it are ‘hope,’ ‘steadfast love,’ and ‘mercy.'”

“O God, may I never divorce my information about you from my experience with you; may I never separate what men tell me you are from what I believe you have become for me, even in Jesus Christ, in whose name I praise and serve you. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

So, when he heard that Lazarus was ill, he stayed two days longer in the place where he was. John 11:6

This has to be one of the most shocking verses in the Bible. Jesus heard that his dear friend, Lazarus, was sick. So he jumped up and ran to heal him, right? No! He hung around for two more days, wherever they were!

Have you ever considered God’s silences to be answers? I would be willing to bet that Mary and Martha were not thinking that when they didn’t hear anything from Jesus for those days. In fact, when he finally arrived, Martha accused him. “If you had been here, he would not have died!” However, even in saying that, Martha already understood some great truth. “But even now I know that whatever you ask from God, God will give you.” (Verse 22) The silence of God, if we will maintain faith and trust, will bring us “into a marvelous understanding of Himself.” In fact, there is evidence that, in being silent, God is showing trust in us, that we will not go further until we hear something. “If God has given you a silence, praise Him, He is bringing you into the great run of His purpose.” We have to remember that time means nothing to God.

“If Jesus Christ is bringing you into the understanding that prayer is for the glorifying of His Father, He will give you the first sign of His intimacy–silence.”

Father, help me to understand when you are silent. Help me to glorify you in whatever you choose to do with me or give to me. Give me the contentedness of knowing that you are there, even when I don’t “hear” you. Help me to rest in your silences with all faith and trust in your sovereign hand.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Lord, I pray that your grace may always precede and follow me, that I may continually be given to good works; through Jesus Christ my Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever Amen. (The Divine Hours)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

