Rendered Incandescent

Today is Thursday, October 13, 2016. ONE MORE DAY UNTIL GALVESTON!!!!!

Quote of the Day

“What a man takes in by contemplation, that he pours out in love.” – Meister Eckhart

Word of the Day

Minimifidian – That reduces faith to a minimum; having little faith.

Today is No Bra Day. Before you get all excited, here, let me point out that this has to do with raising awareness of breast cancer. Statistically, one in eight women will develop breast cancer. So each October 13th has been designated as No Bra Day to raise awareness.

I’m going back to work this morning. For half a day. Yes, my PTO begins at noon today, and extends until 4:30 PM next Friday evening. The cellulitis isn’t quite gone, but it is a good bit better. This morning, most of the redness appears to be gone, but, from experience, I can say that there will probably be some that returns as the day goes on. However, two days of doing nothing but sitting in the recliner with my legs elevated (along with the new antibiotic) has really helped. Plus I got caught up on Stranger Things Tuesday, and The Walking Dead, yesterday. I do not like the way Season 6 ended! But it doesn’t start back up until the 23rd of this month, so maybe I can record them and keep up. Otherwise, I have to wait until next October. At any rate, I can say, I think, that this is the worst case of cellulitis that I have ever had.

There will plenty of time to rest over the next week, though. After I get off work today, I’ll be heading home to get S, and then we will go pick up Mama and bring her back home for tonight. Then tomorrow morning, C and I will go pick up our rental van at the airport, pack it up, and then off to Galveston we go! R and J will be joining us, probably sometime Saturday, and are able to stay the whole week. We don’t have much of anything planned, other than a whole lot of R & R.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
For the LORD is a great God, and a great King above all gods.
Psalm 95:1-3
Gladden the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, do I lift up my soul. Psalm 86:4
Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth! Psalm 57:5

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Forever, O LORD, your word is firmly fixed in the heavens.
Your faithfulness endures to all generations; you have established the earth, and it stands fast.
By your appointment they stand this day, for all things are your servants.
If your law had not been my delight, I would have perished in my affliction.
I will never forget your precepts, for by them you have given me life.
I am yours; save me, for I have sought your precepts.
The wicked lie in wait to destroy me, but I consider your testimonies.
I have seen a limit to all perfection, but your commandment is exceedingly broad.
Psalm 119:89-96

The laws of man are “relative and limiting.” The laws of God are “firmly fixed” and “exceedingly broad.” “God’s law is a firm center from which to begin; it is also a wide country in which to travel. It is solid and it is spacious.”

“I thank you, Father, for your word, which has set me free from all confinement and released me from all restrictions. In your law I find perfect liberty to act and love in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

One day, when Moses had grown up, he went out to his people and looked on their burdens, and he saw an Egyptian beating a Hebrew, one of his people. Exodus 2:11

When Moses saw his people being oppressed, he felt certain that he was the one to deliver them, and “in the righteous indignation of his own spirit he started to right their wrongs.” We see how that worked out for him. He immediately experienced both fear and discouragement, and wound up hiding in the desert for forty years. But at the end of that time, God appeared to him and re-validated his belief that he was Israel’s deliverer. He had to be “trained and disciplined by God” before he could accomplish his purpose.

Our individual efforts for God mean nothing as long as we are doing them individually. We feel God’s call on our lives and immediately begin to act impetuously and impulsively, before we have been disciplined for the task. “Our individuality is to be rendered incandescent by a personal relationship to God.” We get the aspect, we get the vision, but before we can be effective, we have to get into “God’s stride.”

Father, help me get into your “stride.” You have begun to assimilate my individuality into yourself. And somehow you manage to do that without completely erasing that individuality. I praise you for your work in my life, and ask you to keep going; don’t stop; don’t give up on me. Draw me further into the disciplines and further into your heart, that I might do great things in your name and for your glory.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Rendered Incandescent

Leave a Reply

