O, Taste and See!

Today is Friday, October 14, 2016. Today is the day!

Quote of the Day

“Yesterday is history. Tomorrow is a mystery. Today is a gift. That’s why it’s called the present.” – Bil Keane

Word of the Day

Ansible – In science fiction: a device that enables instantaneous communication over any distance. Also: this as a form of communication.

Today is International Top Spinning Day. That makes me want to watch Inception again.

I don’t have a lot of time, this morning, as we have to leave to pick up the rental van in about twenty-five minutes. So I’m going to get right on down to the devotional stuff. I’ll just say that we got my mother safely here, yesterday afternoon, and we have most of the stuff packed, simply needing to pack the toiletries, and so on, this morning. We plan to head out of here around 9:00-ish.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh, taste and see that the LORD is good! Blessed is the man who takes refuge in him! Psalm 34:8
Be to me a rock of refuge, to which I may continually come; you have given the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress. Psalm 71:3
But I, O LORD, cry to you; in the morning my prayer comes before you. Psalm 88:13

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Oh how I love your law! It is my meditation all the day.
Your commandment makes me wiser than my enemies, for it is ever with me.
I have more understanding than all my teachers, for your testimonies are my meditation.
I understand more than the aged, for I keep your precepts.
I hold back my feet from every evil way, in order to keep your word.
I do not turn aside from your rules, for you have taught me.
Psalm 119:97-102

The more we study God’s law (and meditate upon it, as the Psalmist), the more we understand it, and the more skill we develop in living “in accordance with our own created nature and God’s revealed will.” If we reject this law, we can only learn by a painful process of trial and error.

“God, as people compete for my attention today, calling me here to learn a little of this, and there for a little of that, help me to keep my mind stayed on Christ. Amen.”

Father, I’ve tasted and I’ve seen the goodness of you! You are good! I continually take refuge in you! Forgive me for the times when I step out of that refuge and attempt to do it on my own.

May you keep us safe in our travels today and the rest of the next week! May you give us rest and relaxation, as well as rejuvenation and intimate connection with you over the course of the next week. I will look for your face as I gaze at the majesty of your creation.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “O, Taste and See!

Comments are closed.