Propitiation

Today is Saturday, October 15, 2016. I’m not counting down anything, currently, as the next major event is going back home from Galveston, and I don’t want to think about that.

Quote of the Day

“True love cannot be found where it does not exist, nor can it be denied where it does.” – Torquato Tasso

Word of the Day

Waggish – resembling or characteristic of a wag : displaying good-humored mischief. Also, done or made for sport : humorous.

Today is Sweetest Day, which is actually apparently, all about candy. How can you not like that?

I woke up to this, this morning.
galveston-sunrise

We arrived and got checked into our house at around 3:00-4:00 PM, yesterday, after a wonderful trip down. It rained a good bit of the way, but once we got past Fairfield, it didn’t rain much more. The weather here is gorgeous this morning. Slightly warmer than I would like, but nothing to complain about. I might write more about our daily activities in my other blog, as the week progresses.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise! Psalm 95:2
O LORD God of hosts, hear my prayer; give ear, O God of Jacob! Selah. Psalm 84:8
My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast! I will sing and make melody!
Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!
I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations.
For your steadfast love is great to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds.
Be exalted, O God, above the heavens! Let your glory be over all the earth!
Psalm 57:7-11
This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. Psalm 118:25

(From Praying With the Psalms)

How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!
Through your precepts I get understanding; therefore I hate every false way.
Psalm 119:103-104

The law of our God is perfect and true. There is pleasure to be found in every sentence. “The person who sits down to a banquet of such words knows all the nuances of joy. Such meals begin in delight and end in wisdom.”

“Praise God! Your generosity expands each pleasure; your grace puts dimensions that are past understanding into every delight; joy crowns every gladness. All your words are beatitudes. Thank you, in Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

He is the propitiation for our sins, and not for ours only but also for the sins of the whole world. 1 John 2:2

“The missionary message is the limitless significance of Jesus Christ as the propitiation for our sins, and missionary is one who is soaked in that revelation.” The message is not that Jesus is good and kind (which he is, of course), but the propitiation for our sins, and “His revealing of the Fatherhood of God.” What, exactly, is “propitiation?” It has been oversimplified to mean, “God is not angry with me any more, and only looks at me in love.” That is NOT the definition. It might be the result or effect, but is not the definition. Actually, the definition is very simple. It means, “the turning away of wrath by an offering.” That’s it.

This has nothing to do with patriotism; it is “irrespective of nations and of individuals, it is for the whole world.” This is also important, as many people seem to think that the United States has a corner on the “Gospel Market.” Nothing could be further from the truth. When we mix patriotism with the Gospel, the Gospel suffers.

The Gospel is also not the story of what Jesus has done for me. Paul did not say, “Woe is unto me, if I do not preach what Christ has done for me.” Rather, he said, “Woe is unto me, if I preach not the gospel.” What was the Gospel that Jesus preached? “The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent and believe in the gospel.” (Mark 1:15) The Gospel is that the Kingdom of God is at hand; it is here, and it is available to you, right now!

Father, I don’t consider myself a “missionary,” per se. But I do pray to be soaked in the revelation of Jesus Christ as the propitiation for our sins. I pray to be immersed in the message of the Gospel, that your Kingdom is here and available for all. Help me to walk in the easy yoke of Christ, and to believe his words, not just believing in what he did. Let my message not be what he has done for me, but, rather, who he is and what he is about.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

