Prayer Is the Key

Today is Sunday, October 16, 2016. Day three in Galveston.

Quote of the Day

“Accustom yourself continually to make many acts of love, for they enkindle and melt the soul.” – Saint Teresa of Avila

Word of the Day

Lavation – the act or an instance of washing or cleansing

Today is Dictionary Day, in honor of Noah Webster, considered the “father” of the American Dictionary.

I got up with C, this morning, to drink coffee and watch the sunrise. It was almost as brilliant as yesterday’s, and, perhaps, in some ways, more so.

Galveston sunrise
Galveston sunrise

We watched the sun come up, along with some early-risen children cavorting in the shallow water while their father took some pictures. A few other people showed up, some just driving beach buggies down to the ocean to do nothing more than watch the sunrise. A few men showed up down the way to do some fishing, one of them with a net.

img_4735

Today, R & J should arrive, but we aren’t sure when. I’m expecting them mid-afternoon. We plan to go have some brunch at a local Mexican restaurant, La Estacion, recommended by a friend at work. We have heard that the Bishop house tours are free on Sundays, so we might try to do that. But there are no firm plans at all. And that’s pretty much how we are approaching the whole week.

Yesterday, we pretty much did nothing all day. The whole day can pretty much be summed up by this picture of C sitting on the beach.

img_4705

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you!
Let the nations be glad and sing for joy, for you judge the peoples with equity and guide the nations upon earth. Selah.
Let the peoples praise you, O God; let all the peoples praise you!
Psalm 67:3-5
Hear my voice according to your steadfast love; O LORD, according to your justice give me life. Psalm 119:149
Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success!
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.
Psalm 118:25-26

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.
I have sworn an oath and confirmed it, to keep your righteous rules.
I am severely afflicted; give me life, O LORD, according to your word!
Accept my freewill offerings of praise, O LORD, and teach me your rules.
I hold my life in my hand continually, but I do not forget your law.
The wicked have laid a snare for me, but I do not stray from your precepts.
Your testimonies are my heritage forever, for they are the joy of my heart.
I incline my heart to perform your statutes forever, to the end.
Psalm 119:105-112

Who among us knows the future? We know not what this day holds in store for us. However, as disciples, we have “clear illumination for each step taken in faith and hope.” Because of that, we can step into each day with fullness of joy.

“‘O grant us light, that we may know the wisdom Thou alone canst give; that truth may guide where’er we go, and virtue bless where’er we live. O grant us light, that we may see where error lurks in human lore, and turn our seeking minds to Thee, and love Thy holy Word the more’ (Lawrence Tuttiett, ‘O Grant Us Light’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

. . . therefore pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into his harvest. Matthew 9:38

What is the key to the “missionary problem?” It is prayer. It is not work, at least not the way that word is normally understood, because work typically means “the evasion of concentration on God.” But we think that prayer is not practical; from the “ordinary common-sense point of view,” prayer is stupid. But the key to the “missionary problem” is not common sense, either. It is prayer.

“There are no nations in Jesus Christ’s outlook, but the world.” Do we pray with no respect for persons, save Jesus Christ? It is his harvest, not ours, “and this is the harvest we have to pray that labourers may be thrust out to reap.” We get too busy with our activities, and wind up not reaping any at all. What happens when a crisis arises in a life close to us? We claim we have “special work” to do. “No Christian has a special work to do. A Christian is called to be Jesus Christ’s own, one who is not above his Master, one who does not dictate to Jesus Christ what he intends to do.” Jesus calls to himself, not to “special work.” Prayer is the work. Pray for laborers to reap the harvest.

Father, you have called me to prayer; help me to be faithful. I confess that I have lagged, of late. Rekindle the fire of intercessory prayer in my life. Teach me to pray, both for individual needs, as well as needs of the Church. Teach me to properly pray for the laborers to reap the harvest. Let me not be distracted by presuppositions and personal preferences. May I be a servant of Jesus Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Almighty and everlasting God, in Christ you have revealed your glory among the nations: Preserve the works of your mercy, that your Church throughout the world may persevere with steadfast faith in the confession of your Name; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

