The Greater Work

Today is Monday, October 17, 2016. Day four in Galveston.

Quote of the Day

“A flower cannot blossom without sunshine, and man cannot live without love.” – Max Muller

Word of the Day

Keytar – An electronic musical instrument consisting of a keyboard with an attached neck incorporating controls for altering the sound and pitch, and typically equipped with a shoulder strap so that it can be held in the manner of a guitar.

herbie-hancock-keytar-cool

Today is Wear Something Gaudy Day. If only I had brought something gaudy with me to Galveston.

We had breakfast at a delightful little Mexican restaurant, yesterday. I guess you might consider it “brunch,” rather than breakfast. The place is called La Estacion, and is on Ball Street, just off of Broadway, about two blocks down from where the cruise ships launch. It’s a tiny shop, looking to be family owned, and everything is homemade fresh. Even the tortilla chips they brought to us were hot, straight out of the oven. The salsa was delicious, too. And prices! Good grief! We got huge breakfast burritos with eggs, potatoes, and meat for around $3.00! I added an extra meat and cheese to mine, so it was about a dollar more. Four of us ate for $30, and $5 of that was the guacamole we got. I wasn’t real crazy about their guac, but everything else was delicious! We’ll probably go back later this week.

After brunch, we toured the Bishop Palace, an old mansion from the 1800s. It was free to tour, yesterday only, due to some anniversary of the Galveston Historical Foundation, or something. It was beautiful inside, with about a dozen fireplaces, a library, and some ornate ceilings, bed canopies, and so on. However, it was warm and humid inside, as the building has no A/C. They had some electric portable units about the place, though, so that helped.

We spent the rest of the day relaxing around the house, either inside, or on the deck, watching/listening to the waves and reading. R & J arrived at around 7:00 PM, after which we found a pizza place that would actually deliver to us, and we were able to order online! We had a nice time visiting, and finally went to bed around 10:00PM.

No plans today, other than breakfast/brunch in a little while. We might go shopping around The Strand. We might not. We have no plans.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day. –
Do not cast me off in the time of old age; forsake me not when my strength is spent.
Psalm 71:8-9
O LORD, God of my salvation; I cry out day and night before you.
Let my prayer come before you; incline your ear to my cry!
Psalm 88:1-2
Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths.
Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all the day long.
Psalm 25:4-5

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I hate the double-minded, but I love your law.
You are my hiding place and my shield; I hope in your word.
Depart from me, you evildoers, that I may keep the commandments of my God.
Uphold me according to your promise, that I may live, and let me not be put to shame in my hope!
Hold me up, that I may be safe and have regard for your statutes continually!
You spurn all who go astray from your statutes, for their cunning is in vain.
All the wicked of the earth you discard like dross, therefore I love your testimonies.
My flesh trembles for fear of you, and I am afraid of your judgments.
Psalm 119:113-120

It is necessary for us to concentrate on God’s Word before we can truly be a witness in this world. Jesus said, in Matthew 6:22, The eye is the lamp of the body. So, if your eye is healthy, your whole body will be full of light. The KJV renders this, The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light. We must be single minded. In Psalm 86:11, my life verse, the Psalmist says, Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name.

“I would look neither to the right nor the left, neither before or behind, but keep my eyes on your word, O God. And then I would press on, single-minded, for ‘the prize of the heavenly call of God in Christ Jesus’ (Philippians 3:14). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Truly, truly, I say to you, whoever believes in me will also do the works that I do; and greater works than these will he do, because I am going to the Father. John 14:12

“Prayer does not fit us for the greater works; prayer is the greater work.” I could stop there. Unfortunately, we tend to think of prayer as the thing that will prepare us for God’s work.

“Prayer is the battle; it is a matter of indifference where you are.” Whatever the circumstances, our duty is to pray. Whatever circumstance God has dumped you in, pray. Do not think, “I am of no use where I am.” Chambers says, “You certainly can be of no use where you are not.” We engage in spiritual selfishness when we only pray if we can get thrills.

What are we to pray for? One major thing is to pray for the laborers to reap the harvest, addressed yesterday. This is not glorious, thrilling work. But when we labor at prayer, “results happen all the time from His standpoint.”

You see, we never know what happens when we pray. “What an astonishment it will be to find, when the veil is lifted, the souls that have been reaped by you, simply because you had been in the habit of taking your orders from Jesus Christ.”

Father, I thank you for these reminders of the greater work of prayer, and how you have led me into a life of prayer. I ask that this would be intensified during the remainder of this vacation, that I would spend more time in prayer as I take in the wonders of your creation. Give me work to do in your Kingdom, and may I do it joyfully.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “The Greater Work

    1. I’ve used the word before, but never knew that it was a “dictionary” word.
      I enjoyed looking at encyclopedias, as well. When I was growing up, we had a set of Britannica in the house, and then when I started doing reports and stuff at school, my parents got me a set of World Book Encyclopedia.

Leave a Reply

