Attachment vs Detachment

Today is Tuesday, October 18, 2016. Day five in Galveston.

Quote of the Day

“Sometimes it’s worse to win a fight than to lose.” – Billie Holiday

Word of the Day

Plusquamperfection – Utter perfection.

Today is Chocolate Cupcake Day. What could possibly be wrong, today, that a chocolate cupcake couldn’t fix?

We slept through the sunrise, this morning. Mostly because we stayed up past midnight, last night.

Yesterday, we drove into town to eat breakfast/brunch at Miller’s Seawall Grill. I had Lump Crab Benedict, and, boy, was it good!! After we ate, we went on over to The Strand to walk around a little. We watched salt water taffy being made at La King’s candy shop, and got some free samples. I also bought a small amount of several flavors and decided that I really like salt water taffy.

That was the extent of our adventure, yesterday. We drove on back to the house and spent the rest of the day relaxing, reading, watching/listening to the ocean.

This morning, we are getting ready to go to another place for breakfast, ShyKatZ. Who knows what we will do after that?

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually! Psalm 105:4
Do good, O LORD, to those who are good, and to those who are upright in their hearts!Psalm 125:4

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I have done what is just and right; do not leave me to my oppressors.
Give your servant a pledge of good; let not the insolent oppress me.
My eyes long for your salvation and for the fulfillment of your righteous promise.
Deal with your servant according to your steadfast love, and teach me your statutes.
I am your servant; give me understanding, that I may know your testimonies!
It is time for the LORD to act, for your law has been broken.
Therefore I love your commandments above gold, above fine gold.
Therefore I consider all your precepts to be right; I hate every false way.
Psalm 119:121-128

The Word of God is available to us at no charge; we can neither buy nor sell it (I’m not speaking of “Bibles” here). At the same time, it is priceless and shapes all of our values. Do our check stubs reflect the values shaped by God’s Word?

“You know, O Lord, how easily I am corrupted by the world’s values, how I judge people by their salaries and things by their price tags. Purge me of all such baseness and teach me to value everything in relation to your love revealed in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For they have gone out for the sake of the name, accepting nothing from the Gentiles. 3 John 7

How does our love to Christ manifest itself? We must identify with his interests in other people, not attempting to identify Jesus with our interests in other people.

“The key to missionary devotion means being attached to nothing and no one saving Our Lord Himself, not being detached from things externally. External detachment frequently shows an internal attachment to the very things that we seek to keep away from externally. We are better to be attached solely to Christ, rather than attempting to be detached from other things.

Father, I would seek this internal and external attachment to Christ, rather than external detachment from things. I desire to seek Jesus and him only, and allow this to color my attitude toward everything else. Help me to identify with your interests in those around me, rather than attempting to manipulate you into my interests.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

One thought on “Attachment vs Detachment

Leave a Reply

