Willing To Be Sanctified

Today is Thursday, October 20, 2016. Day seven in Galveston.

Quote of the Day

“Keep love in your heart. A life without it is like a sunless garden when the flowers are dead.” – Oscar Wilde

Word of the Day

Paroxysm – any sudden, violent outburst; a fit of violent action or emotion.

Today is Information Overload Day. I’m glad this is happening while I’m on vacation. If you are able, take a break from the massive amount of information coming your way via the Internet and social media. The news can wait, can’t it?

It wound up just being C, Mama, and I who went out for the lunch buffet, yesterday. We went to Mario’s Seawall Italian and Pizza restaurant, where we took in their nice lunch buffet. There was a good variety of choice, from spaghetti and meatballs, to fried Pollock and backed chicken. There was also lasagna and pizza.

After lunch, we drove over to the Port Bolivar ferry, where we road across the bay to the Bolivar Peninsula. We saw a few dolphins on the way over, and enjoyed the view as we rode. On the other side, we just drove down the main road for about fifteen miles, taking a side trip to look at Crystal Beach. It was much nicer this year, as the beaches of Galveston have not been plagued with the massive amounts of seaweed that we experienced the last time we were down here. We stopped at a store and got something to drink, then headed back to the ferry landing to ride back over to the island.

On the trip back to the house, we encountered a slight detour, as Seawall Blvd was closed for a bit. We found out later that a water main had broken, and there were even places without any water for a while. We had to meander around some back streets, but finally made our way back out to Seawall to get back out to the west end, where our house is. It added about thirty minutes to our trip, I think.

After sitting around the house, reading for a while, C and I went down to the beach with some chairs, played in the water for a while and then sat looking at the ocean until dusk. It was wonderful and beautiful and relaxing.

This morning, we had rain when we woke up, along with some thunder. It appears that the rain has stopped, but it is still overcast cloudy. The temp is supposed to get into the low 80s today, which is a bit cooler than the rest of the week has been.

And, sadly, it is our last full day in Galveston. In fact, we have to be checked out of the house by 10:00 AM tomorrow. That makes me sad, of course, but I’ll try not to focus on that today.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. Psalm 51:15
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling! Psalm 43:3
O LORD God of hosts, who is mighty as you are, O LORD, with your faithfulness all around you?
Righteousness and justice are the foundation of your throne; steadfast love and faithfulness go before you.
Psalm 89:8, 14
I will walk before the LORD in the land of the living. Psalm 116:9

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Make your face shine upon your servant, and teach me your statutes.
My eyes shed streams of tears, because people do not keep your law.
Psalm 119:135-136

As followers of Christ, it does make us sad when people don’t acknowledge God and his “law.” While I don’t believe that we are bound to follow God’s “law,” per se, when I read this Psalm and the references to God’s law, I simply see it as his Word, whether in print, or through the Spirit. It’s hard to not take it personally, when non-believers scoff at it. However, I am getting better at that. It does me no harm when someone professes that they don’t believe in God or in his Word. Nevertheless, we are still saddened when people will not avail themselves to the life that is available in Christ.

“Dear God, I pray for my friends who appear to be indifferent to your ways and heedless of your love. I know that your word continues to them as a word of invitation, direction, and love. I pray for their repentance and faith, through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For this is the will of God, your sanctification. 1 Thessalonians 4:3

The question is not if God is willing to sanctify me. The question is if I am willing. “Am I willing to let God do in me all that has been made possible by the Atonement?” Am I willing to let the life of Christ be manifest in my flesh? Everything is completed in Christ.

Father, I pray for the desire to be complete in Christ. My heart desires to follow him closely, but my flesh continues to struggle. There is still a determination to employ the disciplines to make me more like Christ, to put his words into practice in my life, and to walk in the easy yoke of Christ.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

PS, there may not be a blog entry tomorrow morning. As stated above, we have to be completely out and have the keys back to the rental agency by 10:00 AM, so I may not have time.

Leave a Reply

