Today is Saturday, October 22, 2016. Nineteen days until our Glen Rose weekend.

Quote of the Day

“Start with what is right rather than what is acceptable.” – Franz Kafka

Word of the Day

Stalwart – firm, steadfast, or uncompromising.

Today is Caps Lock Day, a day set aside to campaign for the removal of the “Caps Lock” key on the keyboard. To celebrate, simply refrain from using the Caps Lock key. You might also remind people on social media that using Caps Lock (aka, shouting) does not, in fact, help to get their point across.

Well, we are back home from Galveston. We arrived in Mineral Wells, to drop my mother off at home, at around 6:30 PM, yesterday. We stayed just long enough to get her luggage in, use the bathroom, and give hugs goodbye. We stopped by McDonald’s on the way out of Mineral Wells, to pick up something to eat, then headed on back home. We got home somewhere between 8:00 and 8:30 PM. We got everything unpacked, then I settled in to a session on the PS4, while C went to bed to read for a while. We took the rental van back right after we got up, this morning. It looks like we even got $7 back because we turned it in a couple hours early! Everything about the rental process was smooth and easy! Alamo was great!

It was a fantastic vacation! I think everyone had a good time, and it was nice to be all together for a while. We had some good food, some great experiences, and, most of all, enjoyed being around the beach, either sitting on the deck, watching the ocean while reading, or getting on the beach to sit or play in the water. The weather was great for most of the trip, and even when it rained on Thursday, it was still beautiful.

Next up for us is C’s birthday weekend, which we will spend at Paluxy River Bed Cabins in Glen Rose.

We don’t have much going on this weekend. We have to get to the grocery store at some point, and we have church tomorrow. That’s about it. Next weekend and the one following will be a little busy, and then the weekend following that will be the Glen Rose weekend.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Show us your steadfast love, O LORD, and grant us your salvation. Psalm 85:7
Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple! Psalm 65:4
Blessed are those whose strength is in you, in whose heart are the highways to Zion. Psalm 84:5
My soul longs, yes, faints for the courts of the LORD; my heart and flesh sing for joy to the living God. Psalm 84:1

(From Praying With the Psalms)

With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes.
I call to you; save me, that I may observe your testimonies.
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words.
My eyes are awake before the watches of the night, that I may meditate on your promise.
Hear my voice according to your steadfast love; O LORD, according to your justice give me life.
They draw near who persecute me with evil purpose; they are far from your law.
But you are near, O LORD, and all your commandments are true.
Long have I known from your testimonies that you have founded them forever.
Psalm 119:145-152

Dietrich Bonhoeffer said, “The early morning belongs to the church of the risen Christ.” As Christians, we have long been encouraged to make our first words and thoughts, our first moments of every day, be dedicated to our Father.

“‘As the sun doth daily rise, brightening all the morning skies, so to Thee with one accord lift we up our hearts, O Lord! . . . Praise we, with the heavenly host, Father, Son, and Holy Ghost; Thee would we with one accord praise and magnify, O Lord!’ (‘As the Sun Doth Daily Rise,’ Latin hymn, translated by O.B.C.). Amen.”

Father, I pray for more discipline when it comes to my early mornings. I am too frequently distracted by things that are completely irrelevant and meaningless. May my first thoughts, words, and actions, every day, going forward, but toward you. Take my days and make them yours, from the very beginning.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

