Not My Prejudices

Today is Sunday, October 23, 2016. Eighteen days until our Glen Rose weekend.

Quote of the Day

“Who so loves believes the impossible.” – Elizabeth Barrett Browning

Word of the Day

Thunderstruck – overcome with consternation; confounded; astounded.

Today is iPod Day. It’s hard to believe it was a mere 15 years ago that the little rectangle that changed the music world came upon the scene. I know . . . that was a terrible sentence, and I don’t have time to make it better. Anyway . . . I never actually owned an iPod. I had one or two different MP3 players over time, and eventually got an iPhone, which, of course, includes the basic works of an iPod. I hear some people actually still use iPods.

We virtually did nothing yesterday. C went out and did some shopping, but that’s pretty much it. We mostly sat and watched TV for the day, getting caught up on a few shows that we missed during the vacation.

This morning, we are getting ready for our worship gathering. We worship with The Exchange, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach Street in Fort Worth. Worship begins at 10:15.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.
Psalm 43:3-4
As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God.
My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?
Psalm 42:1-2
For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God? Psalm 18:31

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Look on my affliction and deliver me, for I do not forget your law.
Plead my cause and redeem me; give me life according to your promise!
Salvation is far from the wicked, for they do not seek your statutes.
Great is your mercy, O LORD; give me life according to your rules.
Many are my persecutors and my adversaries, but I do not swerve from your testimonies.
I look at the faithless with disgust, because they do not keep your commands.
Consider how I love your precepts! Give me life according to your steadfast love.
The sum of your word is truth, and every one of your righteous rules endures forever.
Psalm 119:153-160

Everything in God’s word adds up to “truth.” “We are not faced with scattered items of information and counsel that we acquire bit by bit and use as we find opportunity. The law is a comprehensive whole in which we understand our life and salvation in the fullness of God.”

“I am so apt, O God, to get hold of one corner of your truth and forget the rest. Keep me aware of the sweep and splendor of your law, all its parts and its wholeness, even as it is shown complete in Jesus, in whose name I pray. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. 2 Corinthians 5:17

Many of us make the mistake of thinking that God is on the side of our own prejudices, or own interests. Nothing could be further from the truth. “Instead of God being on the side of our prejudices, He is deliberately wiping them out.” The only thing God wants from us is “our unconditional surrender.”

Father, give me this surrender, for even that must be a gift from you! I confess that I still struggle with prejudices that I need to surrender to you, that they may be totally wiped out. The only thing I am concerned with is your interests in other people, not my own interests. Make that 100% true in my life. I pray that I might surrender completely to you, and that I might understand and know all of your truth, not just bits and pieces that serve my own purposes.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Almighty and everlasting God, increase in me the gifts of faith, hope, and charity; and, that I may obtain what you promise, make me love what you command; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends!

Leave a Reply

