The Highest Point of View

Today is Monday, October 24, 2016. Seventeen days until Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.” – Albert Einstein

Word of the Day

Compunction – a feeling of uneasiness or anxiety of the conscience caused by regret for doing wrong or causing pain; contrition; remorse.

Today is National Bologna Day. And we’re not talking about a city in Italy. We’re talking about meat, sausage (I did not know it was considered sausage), lunch meat. Enjoy it plain on a sandwich. Try it fried. Or better yet, barbecued! I’ve has some really delicious barbecued bologna sandwiches.

And it’s back to the grind, today! I’m not nearly as depressed about that as I thought I would be. I guess that means the vacation worked, right? So back to work, we go. I will also get back into band practice tonight, as it has been a number of weeks since I have made it for that. I suppose we will be preparing for the Christmas Tree Lighting at some point in November. Hopefully, not November 12, because C and I will be in Glen Rose for that weekend, celebrating her birthday!

The World Series begins tomorrow night, and it’s the Cubs versus the Indians. In spite of my affinity with Cubs fans, I will be rooting for the Indians (if I remember to root at all). They have Terry Francona, previous manager of the Red Sox, Mike Napoli, previously with both the Red Sox and the Rangers, Andrew Miller, previously of the Red Sox, and Coco Crisp, part of the 2004 Red Sox World Series team. While the Cubs have Jon Lester, John Lackey, and Theo Epstein, they also have Joe Maddon, and I cannot, will not EVER root for Joe Maddon. Sorry, Cubs fans.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Be strong, and let your heart take courage, all you who wait for the LORD! Psalm 31:24
You, O LORD, will keep them; you will guard us from this generation forever. Psalm 12:7
Restore us, O God; let your face shine, that we may be saved! Psalm 80:3
You will increase my greatness and comfort me again. Psalm 71:21

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Princes persecute me without cause, but my heart stands in awe of your words.
I rejoice at your word like one who finds great spoil.
I hate and abhor falsehood, but I love your law.
Seven times a day I praise you for your righteous rules.
Great peace have those who love your law; nothing can make them stumble.
I hope for your salvation, O LORD, and I do your commandments.
My soul keeps your testimonies; I love them exceedingly.
I keep your precepts and testimonies, for all my ways are before you.
Psalm 119:161-168

There are a lot of people who look at God’s words as somewhat “cozy and commonplace,” thinking that they can keep them in a box in the house, somewhere, to bring them out whenever they need them. But the true follower, the “true listener,” remembers that God’s word is spoken by the God who “turned back the waters and exploded Gomorrah.” This person stands in awe of the power and majesty of the words of God.

“‘Lord, the words Thy lips are telling are the perfect verity; of Thine high eternal dwelling, holiness shall inmate be: Alleluia! Alleluia! Pure is all that lives with Thee’ (John Keble, ‘God, the Lord, a King Remaineth’). Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere. 2 Corinthians 2:14

What is our viewpoint? It must be the highest it can possibly be. It must be God’s point of view, and we must strive and strain to maintain that on a daily basis. We must not focus on the finite.

What is the purpose? We have only one, “to be captives in the train of Christ’s triumphs.” I am not in God’s “showroom.” We are here to show one thing and one thing only, “the absolute captivity of our lives to Jesus Christ.”

Whose is the victory? “It is a shameful thing for a Christian to talk about getting the victory. The Victor ought to have got us so completely that it is His victory all the time, and we are more than conquerors through Him.”

Father, give me that highest point of view today! Let me see things from your point of view; let me focus on your purpose, not mine. Display me as your captive, in the train of the triumphs of Jesus Christ! Yours is the victory!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

