My Tongue Will Sing

Today is Tuesday, October 25, 2016. Sixteen days until our Glen Rose weekend! The World Series begins tonight.

Quote of the Day

“If your actions inspire others to dream more, learn more, do more and become more, you are a leader.” – John Quincy Adams

Word of the Day

Soupbone – a pitcher’s throwing arm.

Today is Sourest Day. Celebrate the sour things in life. While you can, I suppose, celebrate a sour attitude, I prefer to celebrate the sour foods, such as sour cream, and the veritable plethora of sour candies that are available.

Yes, the World Series begins tonight. The Indians and the Cubs. I’ve already seen jokes about hell freezing over and Jesus coming back during game seven. But the truth is, one of the longer droughts of World Series wins will end this year, no matter who wins. It has been 107 seasons since the Cubs have won a World Series, and 67 since the Indians have won. That’s a combined 174 years! And I haven’t seen this in print to verify it, but I believe that this is the first time in modern baseball history that the two teams in the World Series are the two with the longest winning droughts.

All that being said, I’m rooting for the Indians, as explained yesterday. However, I won’t be mad if the Cubs win. To be honest, the Rangers or Red Sox aren’t in it, so my caring level is very close to zero. I like people on both teams.

The community band is getting ready for the Southlake tree-lighting ceremony, which will take place on Saturday, November 19, the weekend after we go to Glen Rose.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

God has gone up with a shout, the LORD with the sound of a trumpet.
Sing praises to God, sing praises! Sing praises to our King, sing praises!
For God is the King of all the earth; sing praises with a psalm!
God reigns over the nations; God sits on his holy throne.
Psalm 47:5-8
I rise before dawn and cry for help; I hope in your words. Psalm 119:147
Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness! Psalm 115:1
They are planted in the house of the LORD; they flourish in the courts of our God. Psalm 92:12

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let my cry come before you, O LORD; give me understanding according to your word!
Let my plea come before you; deliver me according to your word.
My lips will pour forth praise, for you teach me your statutes.
My tongue will sing of your word, for all your commandments are right.
Psalm 119:169-172

“This grand meditation on the law gathers to a climax in a crescendo of praise. The law that orders our lives in dimensions of mercy and puts us in daily touch with the delights of grace is celebrated in praise that sings.”

“‘Father of mercies, in Thy Word what endless glory shines; forever be Thy name adored for these celestial lines. . . . Divine Instructor, gracious Lord, be Thou forever near; teach me to love Thy sacred Word, and view my Saviour there’ (Anne Steele, ‘Father of Mercies’). Amen.”

“All God’s men are ordinary men made extraordinary by the matter He has given them.” Oswald Chambers

Father, let my cry come before you! Let my plea come before you! Let my lips pour forth your praise, as you teach me your words! And let my tongue sing, sing out loud because of your words in me. Let me abide in them and they in me!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

