Today is Wednesday, October 26, 2016. Fifteen days until our Glen Rose weekend.

Quote of the Day

“All the beautiful sentiments in the world weigh less than a single lovely action.” – James Russell Lowell

Word of the Day

Beatific – of, possessing, or imparting a state of utmost bliss. Also, having a blissful appearance. Beatrice Clelland used the word in a poem, set to music by Phil Keaggy.

Today is Howl At the Moon Day. This is not timed very well, though, because our moon is currently in a crescent phase. I guess we can still howl at it, though. Or . . . we could bark at it?

The Indians shut out the Cubs 6-0 in Game One of the World Series. I’m somewhat surprised by that. Game Two is tonight, and the Cubs have Jake Arrieta on the mound. It will not be quite so easy to beat him, I think. We shall see.

I don’t have much else to write about, so I will move on to the devotions.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Love the LORD, all you his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful but abundantly repays the one who acts in pride. Psalm 31:23
To you, O LORD, I call; my rock, be not deaf to me, lest, if you be silent to me, I become like those who go down to the pit. Psalm 28:1
Your way, O God, is holy. What god is great like our God? Psalm 77:13
Oh, guard my soul, and deliver me! Let me not be put to shame, for I take refuge in you. Psalm 25:20

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Let your hand be ready to help me, for I have chosen your precepts.
I long for your salvation, O LORD, and your law is my delight.
Let my soul live and praise you, and let your rules help me.
I have gone astray like a lost sheep; seek your servant, for I do not forget your commandments.
Psalm 119:173-176

God’s Word is not something that we simply admire and revere in churches. “It is a word by which we are rescued from daily sin.” It is that which became flesh in Jesus Christ, according to John 1:14-18. We desperately need this Word!

“Father, I love your word and cannot do without it. I have wandering feet and require much watching. Lead me and guide me in the name of Jesus ‘the great shepherd of the sheep’ (Hebrews 13:20). Amen.”

Father, I have a lifelong history of loving your word, but I fear that this love has waned in recent years. Restore to me the passion for your word that I once had. In truth, I can already feel it coming back, as I find myself focusing on and meditating on Scripture verses throughout the day. Keep this going in me as I go forward.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

