It Is Finished

Today is Friday, October 28, 2016. Thirteen days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“We didn’t lose the game; we just ran out of time.” Vince Lombardi

Word of the Day

Ensorcell – to bewitch. “The beauty of the moon ensorcelled them.”

Today is Animation Day. Celebrate this day by watching some of your favorite animated films, whether they be Mickey Mouse or Bugs Bunny, or Frozen, Toy Story, or A Scanner Darkly. My favorite was always this:

Hurray! Today is Friday! I’m not sure what the weekend holds for us. We may go up to the YMCA’s “Boo Bash,” this evening, as our church is helping out with it. But neither one of us gets home from work before it starts at 6:00 PM. As far as I know, we don’t have anything planned for tomorrow, other than C getting her oil changed.

Game Three of the World Series is tonight, in Chicago at Wrigley Field. The series is tied 1-1.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Our God comes; he does not keep silence; before him is a devouring fire, around him a mighty tempest. Psalm 50:3
For your name’s sake, O LORD, pardon my guilt, for it is great. Psalm 25:11
Help me, O LORD my God! Save me according to your steadfast love! Psalm 109:26
He sent out his word and healed them, and delivered them from their destruction.
Let them thank the LORD for his steadfast love, for his wondrous works to the children of man!
And let them offer sacrifices of thanksgiving, and tell of his deeds in songs of joy!
Psalm 107:20-22

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come?
My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot be moved; he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD is your keeper; the LORD is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.
The LORD will keep you from all evil; he will keep your life.
The LORD will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.
Psalm 121

There are many interpretations of this Song of Ascent. Peterson sees it this way: “A look to the hills for help ends in disappointment; for all their majesty and beauty, for all their quiet strength and firmness, they are, finally, just hills.” Our help comes from beyond the hills, from the God who created the hills.

“‘What God’s almighty power hath made, His gracious mercy keepeth; by morning glow or evening shade His watchful eye ne’er sleepeth; with the kingdom of His might, lo! all is just and all is right: to God all praise and glory’ (J.J. Shutz, ‘Sing Praise to God Who Reigns Above,’ translated by Frances E. Cox.) Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For if while we were enemies we were reconciled to God by the death of his Son, much more, now that we are reconciled, shall we be saved by his life. Romans 5:10

Let’s get something straight. We are not saved by believing. We realize we are saved by believing. It may sound like semantics, but there is a big difference. Repentance does not save me. “Repentance is the sign that I realize what God has done in Christ Jesus.” We miss the mark when we “put the emphasis on the effect instead of on the cause.” I am not set right with God by my obedience. “I am put right with God because prior to all, Christ died.”

“I stand justified, not because I am sorry for my sin, not because I have repented, but because of what Jesus has done.” It is a supernatural miracle that is only by the grace of God. There is no human logic that can explain this. It is the Atonement of Jesus Christ that enables us to be “born again,” to be changed into new creations.

“It is finished.”

Hallelujah, my God! “It is finished!” May I never fall back into thinking that it is my belief or my repentance that has rescued me from a life of sin. May I never believe that my justification is caused by anything that I have done. There is nothing that I could ever do that could affect such a miracle in my life! It is all because of Jesus Christ and the Atonement that he has provided on the Cross. Hallelujah! Thank you, my God, for choosing me to be a part of this!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

