Pray For the Peace of Your City

Today is Sunday, October 30, 2016. Halloween is tomorrow. Eleven days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“I never knew how to worship until I knew how to love.” – Henry Ward Beecher

Word of the Day

Hallowed – regarded as holy; venerated; sacred

Today is Checklist Day. So my two alternatives were “Create A Great Funeral Day” (seriously??), and “Candy Corn Day.” So for Checklist Day, my first item on the checklist will be “Don’t buy candy corn.” Yuck.

The Indians beat the Cubs again, last night, 7-2 to take a 3-1 lead in the World Series. Jon Lester will be taking the mound for the Cubs tonight, as they try to keep their hopes alive and take the series back to Cleveland for Game Six on Tuesday. Included in last night’s game were three home runs, which were the first World Series home runs hit in Wrigley Field in 71 years. No matter who wins this series, it has been historic. I’m 58 years old. No one has hit a World Series home run in Wrigley Field since before I was born. And, for that matter, Wrigley is one of only two ballparks still in use, that were built before I was born. The other one is, of course, Fenway Park.

It’s Sunday morning, so we are getting ready for our worship gathering. We worship with The Exchange Church, which meets at the Northpark YMCA, at 9100 N. Beach Street, Fort Worth, TX. Worship begins at 10:15. I may or may not have mentioned that I am currently the keyboard player in the worship team.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! Psalm 100:4
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14
I will give thanks to the LORD with my whole heart; I will recount all of your wonderful deeds.
I will be glad and exult in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.
Psalm 9:1-2
In God, whose word I praise, in the LORD, whose word I praise,
in God I trust; I shall not be afraid. What can man do to me?
Psalm 56:10-11

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Pray for the peace of Jerusalem! “May they be secure who love you!
Peace be within your walls and security within your towers!”
For my brothers and companions’ sake I will say, “Peace be within you!”
For the sake of the house of the LORD our God, I will seek your good.
Psalm 122:6-9

As we move closer to the election, it is good to note that peace is possible for “cities as well as individuals.” Peace, which begins in our souls, can extend to the “social order. Prayers for peace are at the heart of all effective social and civic concern.”

“Hear my prayers, O God, for the peace of this city in which I live. I pray for the officials who govern it, for the men and women who work in it, and for the children who play in it. Order all our lives in the peace of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I would add to this pray for my city a prayer for my nation, as well as for the whole world. May your peace reign. May your wisdom rain down on all elected and appointed officials who govern our nation, from President Obama down to the Mayors and City Managers who govern our cities. May they seek your wisdom each day as the rise to do their jobs. May you also give wisdom and discernment to whoever will be our next President. I pray for peace, Father. Give us peace in your Son.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

