The Happiest of Discoveries

Today is Monday, October 31, 2016. Ten days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“I don’t make jokes. I just watch the government and report the facts.” – Will Rogers

Word of the Day

Logophobia – an obsessive fear of words.

Today is, fittingly, Magic Day, originally sanctioned by the wife of Harry Houdini. Houdini died at 1:26 PM on October 31, 1926.

We had the most wonderful time, yesterday evening. S got invited to a sort of “reunion” set up by one of her high school teachers. The teacher simply wanted to a) catch up on what all of her former students were up to, and b) give them an opportunity to see each other again. Two of S’s favorite teachers were there, and several former students that she knew. To watch them hug and greet each other with, seemingly, no prejudices at all, was heart-warming. The teacher who organized it said that she intends to do it again, perhaps even on a semi-regular basis.

The Cubs pulled off a win in Game Five of the World Series, last night, 3-2. When I went to bed, it was 1-0, Indians, but I had a feeling that the Cubs would come back and win it. Game Six will be tomorrow night, back in Cleveland. If necessary, Game Seven will be Wednesday night. If that happens, I have a feeling that it will be the most-watched World Series game in history.

Today is Halloween, and tonight we get to have “Halloween Chili” at our pastor’s mother’s house! Today is also R & J’s seventh anniversary! Happy anniversary!! (I don’t think either one of them reads this, but just in case . . .)

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness; tremble before him, all the earth! Psalm 96:9
The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation. Psalm 18:46
The fool says in his heart, “There is no God.” Psalm 14:1

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. To you I lift up my eyes, O you who are enthroned in the heavens!
Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their master, as the eyes of a maidservant to the hand of her mistress, so our eyes look to the LORD our God, till he has mercy upon us.
Have mercy upon us, O LORD, have mercy upon us, for we have had more than enough of contempt.
Our soul has had more than enough of the scorn of those who are at ease, of the contempt of the proud.
Psalm 123

Many people have served under harsh masters, and discover that the Lord is a God who “pours forth mercy. For the person who has been treated with contempt and scorn, the Lordship of Jesus Christ is the happiest of discoveries.”

“Great God: sometimes I come to you in tense desperation, other times in relaxed gratitude, but never in fear. Your mercy is so gracious and your Lordship so blessed that I can only be filled with praise. Amen.”

I ran across a quote by C.S. Lewis that I will finish with, this morning. I get a daily email with a reading from one of his works. This one comes from a letter that he wrote to Phoebe Hesketh. “The real trouble about the duty of forgiveness is that you do it with all your might on Monday and then find on Wednesday that it hasn’t stayed put and all has to be done over again.”

Father, as I go about my day today, may I experience the grace and mercy that you so lavishly pour out upon us. May I know your presence through this work day, and all of its trials. And may I know the grace of true forgiveness, both in that which I experience from you, and that which I offer to others. May I never hold back a grace that you have give me, when it is needed to extend toward someone else.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “The Happiest of Discoveries

Leave a Reply

