Sign Away Your Rights

Today is Thursday, November 3, 2016. Five days until Election Day. Seven days until our Glen Rose weekend.

Quote of the Day

“I am as bad as the worst, but, thank God, I am as good as the best.” – Walt Whitman

That quote reminds me of this song by The Choir.

Word of the Day

Galimatias – confused or unintelligible talk. (Sounds more like a dinosaur, doesn’t it?)

Today is Cliche Day. Celebrating this is easy. Just use lots of cliches. Go out there and give 110%.

The Cubs broke history, last night. The Curse of the Goat is ended. 107 years of World Series drought is over. The Indians’ drought continues to 68 seasons. They are now the team with the longest World Series drought. We watched part of the game, but didn’t stay up for the whole thing. When I went to sleep, the Cubs were up 6-3. Imagine my surprise when I got up at one point in the night and saw that the final score had been 8-7 in ten innings! Now that’s baseball. That’s how a World Series should end! I will always think that the 1975 World Series is the best one, but 2016 will be very close to that.

I get free lunch today. I never mentioned this, but I was named “Employee of the Month” for September. I was out on vacation when that announcement was made. Just my luck, huh? I got back to work and people were congratulating me. So, today, our manager is taking the EotM for August and me out to lunch. We are going to a place called Grubs Burger Bar. The boss really likes it, and we’re both, like, we don’t care . . . it’s free lunch.

So what do we do, now that baseball is over? We stare out the window and wait for spring, as Rogers Hornsby once said.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn!Psalm 57:8
As for you, O LORD, you will not restrain your mercy from me; your steadfast love and your faithfulness will ever preserve me! Psalm 40:11
My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast! I will sing and make melody! Psalm 57:7
Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved. Psalm 55:22

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. When the LORD restored the fortunes of Zion, we were like those who dream.
Then our mouth was filled with laughter, and our tongue with shouts of joy; then they said among the nations, “The LORD has done great things for them.”
The LORD has done great things for us; we are glad.
Psalm 126:1-3

As the people traveled to Jerusalem, they remembered the great restorations that God brought to them in history. These were acts, miracles of impossibility. The celebrated with laughter, shouts of joy, and hymns.

“I renew the memories of your work, O God, and know that whatever ills or trouble I fall into, there is a way out in Jesus Christ. I celebrate what you did in the past, and I anticipate what you will do in the future. Amen.”

“The passion of Christianity is that I deliberately sign away my own rights and become a bond-slave of Jesus Christ. Until I do that, I do not begin to be a saint.” (Oswald Chambers)

Jesus, I pray for help today, that I might sign away my rights to myself and become your bondservant.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

