Streams In the Desert

Today is Friday, November 4, 2016. Four days until Election Day. Six days until our Glen Rose weekend!

Quote of the Day

“You wouldn’t have won if we’d beaten you.” – Yogi Berra

Word of the Day

Obdurate – unmoved by persuasion, pity, or tender feelings; stubborn; unyielding.

Today is Fountain Pen Day. Writing with a fountain pen has become a lost art. I can’t even remember the last time I saw a fountain pen, much less wrote with one.

Our lunch, yesterday, was great. Turns out Grub Burger Bar is pretty awesome. I had a burger that actually was not on the menu, called “OMG.” It had a burger patty (had to have been at least a half pound), “Texas chili,” chorizo queso, and skinny fries (yes, fries on the burger). It was deeeeeelicious! Then I had a mint chocolate chip shake, which came with a straw as big around as my middle finger. Good thing, too, because it was chock full of mint chips and chocolate chips. I’m now hoping that they will build one of those close to where I live.

We have our monthly Night of Worship tomorrow night, and I’ll be taking my gear over to the house after work today. We are really looking forward to this event, anticipating what God will do there.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Bless our God, O peoples; let the sound of his praise be heard,
who has kept our soul among the living and has not let our feet slip.
Psalm 55:8-9
With my whole heart I cry; answer me, O LORD! I will keep your statutes.
Hear my voice according to your steadfast love; O LORD, according to your justice give me life.
Psalm 119:145, 149
I must perform my vows to you, O God; I will render thank offerings to you.
For you have delivered my soul from death, yes, my feet from falling, that I may walk before God in the light of life.
Psalm 56:12-13

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Restore our fortunes, O LORD, like streams in the Negeb!
Those who sow in tears shall reap with shouts of joy!
He who goes out weeping, bearing the seed for sowing, shall come home with shouts of joy, bringing his sheaves with him.
Psalm 126:4-6

The “streams in the Negeb,” referred to ditches in the desert that were normally dry, but could turn into torrents of water under a sudden rain. This, in turn, would create a “desert ablaze with blossom.” Our long, dry periods of waiting before God can equally become refreshing streams of grace as God invades our lives.

“Let the rain of your Spirit fall on the dry soul of my heart, O God. Bring to blossom the seeds which have been dormant in my desert body. Restore, revive, replenish so that I may be a harvest field of ‘shouts of joy’ for Jesus’ sake. Amen.”

Father, I pray for your rain to fall on me today. My soul isn’t necessarily dry, but there are frequent moments, throughout the day, when it seems to be so. I experienced a few of those, yesterday, but you refreshed me with your Spirit, after I prayed for it. Send your rain today, teach me your ways, and lift my spirit, that I might be excited about the things that excite you!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

