“Do You Believe This?”

Today is Sunday, November 6, 2016. Two days until Election Day. Four days until our Glen Rose weekend! Six days until C’s birthday!

Quote of the Day

“Progress is impossible without change, and those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything.” – George Bernard Shaw

Word of the Day

Bathos, noun, [bey-thos, -thaws, -thohs] – insincere pathos; sentimentality; mawkishness.

Today is Nachos Day. Nachos were originated in Piedras Negras, Mexico, in 1943. However, the “ballpark nachos” that we are so familiar with today were originated in Arlington at Arlington Stadium in the mid-seventies. Celebrating is easy. Eat some nachos.

We had a wonderful Night of Worship last night. There are several videos on Facebook. Unfortunately, I have not figured out how to download those and post them somewhere else. But we had some great worship and a couple of wonderful prayer times. There weren’t quite as many people as last time, but that’s not the most important thing. The most important thing is that we prayed and worshiped.

Today, R & J are coming over for lunch. That will be nice, as we haven’t seen them in a while. R is going through some hard stuff, work-wise, right now.

Also, the wife of one of our worship leaders is in the hospital with possible gall stones. We’re definitely praying for her, as well as a number of other people who are experiencing some atypical issues in their lives.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us sing to the LORD; let us make a joyful noise to the rock of our salvation!
Let us come into his presence with thanksgiving; let us make a joyful noise to him with songs of praise!
Psalm 95:1-2
Give ear, O Shepherd of Israel, you who lead Joseph like a flock. You who are enthroned upon the cherubim, shine forth.
Before Ephraim and Benjamin and Manasseh, stir up your might and come to save us!
Restore us, O God; let your face shine, that we may be saved!
Psalm 80:1-3
It is good to give thanks to the LORD, to sing praises to your name, O Most High;
to declare your steadfast love in the morning, and your faithfulness by night.
Psalm 92:1-2
Incline my heart to your testimonies, and not to selfish gain!
Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things; and give me life in your ways.
Psalm 119:36-37

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Behold, children are a heritage from the LORD, the fruit of the womb a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior are the children of one’s youth.
Blessed is the man who fills his quiver with them! He shall not be put to shame when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.
Psalm 127:5

This psalm progresses from the vain efforts of men in their “anxious toil,” to something that can only be seen as a gift from God, the children with which some are blessed.

“God, all that is most real and most personal in life–sons and daughters, friends and neighbors, parents and spouse–is provided through your creation, not by my struggle. What you have given so miraculously help me to enjoy gratefully. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Do you believe this? John 11:26

This was the question Jesus asked Martha, during their conversation preceding the resurrection of Lazarus. While Martha did believe that Jesus had power, at the beginning of this conversation, she believed that he would have had to have been present in order to keep Lazarus from dying. Even so, once he was with them, she stated belief that God would do whatever Jesus asked of him. Jesus then guided her, gently, into a place where she finally, intimately, said to him, “I believe you are the Christ, the Son of God, who is coming into the world.”

Do we have dealings such as this with Jesus? We need to allow him to press this question home in our lives: “Do you believe this?” What is our doubt? Are we like Martha, where we need Jesus to guide us from a “program of belief” into a “personal belief?” Do we believe in Jesus, or do we believe Jesus? One of the things that has really been impressed upon me, during these past months, is that I need to examine more deeply the words of Jesus and put them into practice in my life. I need to believe what Jesus said, not just believe in Jesus.

“When I stand face to face with Jesus Christ and He says to me–‘Believest thou this?’ I find that faith is as natural as breathing, and I am staggered that I was so stupid as not to trust Him before.”

Father, help me to believe the words of Jesus. Help me to put them into practice in my life. I have begun, I believe, to do so, but I must study them more; I must read them more; I must fully acquaint myself with his words, that I might know them and have them deep in my heart. I so desire to walk in his ways, to walk in his “easy yoke.” I desire to show this life to others. I need your Spirit’s might work within me.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen. (The Gloria)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

