Temples of the Holy Spirit

Today is Tuesday, November 8, 2016. It is Election Day. Two days until our Glen Rose weekend. Four days until C’s birthday!

Quote of the Day

“Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made President should on no account be allowed to do the job.” – Douglas Adams

Word of the Day

Evocative – Bringing strong memories, images, or feelings to mind.

Today is Cook Something Bold and Pungent Day. What can I say? It was that or X-Ray Day. Sometimes, the choices just aren’t that great.

Today is the day. Tomorrow morning, we will wake up with a new President. Hopefully. What I mean by “hopefully,” is that, hopefully, all of this agony of the last few months will be over. I’m not holding my breath, though. I voted last Saturday, and that’s all I’m going to say about that. What I will say, though, is that no matter what happens today, I commit to pray for whoever our new President is, over the next four years. That is my Christian responsibility, and I urge all others to do the same.

The good news is that, Thursday evening, we will be heading to Paluxy River Bed Cabins in Glen Rose, for a relaxing four-day weekend! C’s birthday is Saturday, and since we spent our anniversary in Galveston, we decided to push the cabin weekend back to her birthday. The high temps are supposed to be in the high sixties and low seventies for the whole weekend. It’s going to be wonderful!

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Praise the LORD! Praise the name of the LORD, give praise, O servants of the LORD;
Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant!
For I know that the LORD is great, and that our Lord is above all gods.
Psalm 135:1, 3, 5
Satisfy us in the morning with your steadfast love, that we may rejoice and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14
Out of Zion, the perfection of beauty, God shines forth.
The heavens declare his righteousness, for God himself is judge! Selah.
Psalm 50:2, 6
Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn! Psalm 108:2

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. “Greatly have they afflicted me from my youth”— let Israel now say—
“Greatly have they afflicted me from my youth, yet they have not prevailed against me.
The plowers plowed upon my back; they made long their furrows.”
The LORD is righteous; he has cut the cords of the wicked.
May all who hate Zion be put to shame and turned backward!
Let them be like the grass on the housetops, which withers before it grows up,
with which the reaper does not fill his hand nor the binder of sheaves his arms,
nor do those who pass by say, “The blessing of the LORD be upon you! We bless you in the name of the LORD!”
Psalm 129

Just because we receive God’s blessings does not mean that we will be exempt from suffering. The two exist, side by side, in life. “Both joys and sufferings are redeemed by the Lord, who lived and died for us in Jesus Christ.”

“I know that I am not the first one to feel pain and to suffer, O God, but while it is happening to me, I feel as if I am. I look to you for comfort, strength, and a final day when you will set all things right, through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. Romans 8:26

We know that we have the power of the Holy Spirit for prayer, and we are aware of what it means to pray in the Spirit. “But we do not so often realize that the Holy Spirit Himself prays in us prayers which we cannot utter.” The Holy Spirit of God expresses for us and in us what we cannot express.

“The Spirit of God needs the nature of the believer as a shrine in which to offer His intercession.” 1 Corinthians 6:19 says, Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? And if you keep reading, verse 20 says, You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body. “The Spirit of God will not allow you to use your body for your own convenience.”

We need to recognize the truth that our bodies are temples for the Holy Spirit, and it is within these temples that he offers up those prayers and intercessions that we are not able to express or utter. God, via the Holy Spirit, will take care of the unconscious part of our lives; we must look after the conscious part and see it as a shrine for the Holy Spirit.

Father, keep reminding me of the truth of this teaching. I am not my own. I belong to you. I have no rights to myself, because I have surrendered them to you. Make me aware of the presence of the Holy Spirit in my life, and help me to treat my conscious life as a temple of the Holy Spirit.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

