Maturity in Christ

Today is Tuesday, November 15, 2016. Nine days until Thanksgiving.

Quote of the Day

“There is always some madness in love. But there is also always some reason in madness.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

Word of the Day

Manna – any sudden or unexpected help, advantage, or aid to success.

Today is I Love To Write Day. There have been times in my life when I fancied myself a “writer.” I’ve begun a number of short stories. I have finished none. Story of my life . . .

Today is my father’s birthday. He would have been 79 years old today. It’s only been roughly a year and a half since he passed. Of course we still miss him terribly, my mother more than any of us. Say a prayer for her today, if you think about it.

We had band practice last night, our last before the Southlake “Home For the Holidays” event. The performance is Saturday, November 19, at the Southlake Town Square. We start playing at 4:30 PM, and will play for about an hour.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul. Psalm 66:16
May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah.
that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations.
Psalm 67:1-2
Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning. Psalm 119:54
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Psalm 51:7

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. Of David. Behold, how good and pleasant it is when brothers dwell in unity!
It is like the precious oil on the head, running down on the beard, on the beard of Aaron, running down on the collar of his robes!
It is like the dew of Hermon, which falls on the mountains of Zion! For there the LORD has commanded the blessing, life forevermore.
Psalm 133

David presents two pictures in the Psalm; pictures of how it looks and feels in a “community in which men and women find themselves forgiven by God and open in love to each other.”

“Father, break down every barrier that my sin builds between me and others: barriers of envy, of price, of inadequacy, of scorn. Then let me see and feel the pleasures of sharing the inner delights of forgiveness and grace with the others whom you are gathering into your family. In Jesus’ name. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

When Peter saw him, he said to Jesus, “Lord, what about this man?” Jesus said to him, “If it is my will that he remain until I come, what is that to you? You follow me!” John 21:21-22

It is necessary that we do not attempt to interfere with what God is working in another’s life. We are not “amateur providences.” If someone is suffering, discernment is necessary, as it may be God’s will for that person to suffer for a season.

This discernment comes when we become less conscious of our life with God. “Most of us live on the borders of consciousness–consciously serving, consciously devoted to God.” But this is still immature, there is something deeper for which to strive. “The mature state is the life of a child which is never conscious; we become so abandoned to God that the consciousness of being used never enters in.”

A true saint is not conscious of being a saint.

Father, lead me further toward this state of unconsciousness in your service, in my walk with you. Drive me toward the easy yoke, walking in your kingdom.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

