The Journey Is Not the Purpose

Today is Wednesday, November 16, 2016. Eight days until Thanksgiving. (And another four-day-weekend!)

Quote of the Day

“When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.” – Helen Keller

Word of the Day

Pleonasm – the use of more words than are necessary to express an idea; redundancy. Preachers are frequently guilty of pleonasm.

Today is Fast Food Day. I think you know what to do.

I have a real bad case of “I don’t wanna,” this morning. I was deeply asleep when the alarm went off, and still haven’t managed to fully wake up, yet. Ah, well . . . life goes on, and there are things I must do. And miles to go before I sleep.

C and I are starting to look at our health benefits for next year. I can get a really high deductible plan for, literally, pennies a month. The cost is $3.29 a pay period, and we get paid bi-weekly, so that’s just under $7 a month! But the deductible is $6500. C has not gotten her information yet, so we’ll wait a bit to see what her company is offering and how much it will be. I’m thinking about a lower deductible at about the same cost I was paying this year. I never meet my deductible, but if something major happened, I would want the deductible to be lower than $6500. But it sure is cheap.

There are 101 days until the first Spring Training game for the Texas Rangers. 137 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Praise God from whom all blessings flow;
Praise him, all creatures here below;
Praise him above, you heavenly hosts;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.
Doxology
Send out your light and your truth; let them lead me; let them bring me to your holy hill and to your dwelling!
Then I will go to the altar of God, to God my exceeding joy, and I will praise you with the lyre, O God, my God.
Psalm 43:3-4

(From Praying With the Psalms)

A Song of Ascents. Come, bless the LORD, all you servants of the LORD, who stand by night in the house of the LORD!
Lift up your hands to the holy place and bless the LORD!
May the LORD bless you from Zion, he who made heaven and earth!
Psalm 134

This is the last of the “Songs of Ascents.” The people have arrived, the call comes out to “Come, bless the Lord!” Do we sometimes forget why we have come to the gathering place to worship? Or do we feel that just showing up is enough, and settle back to let others do the acts of worship? The journey is not the purpose, but a means to an end, which is gathering to worship the Lord together, in community.

“‘Bless, O my soul! the living God; call home thy thoughts that rove abroad; let all the powers within me join in work and worship so divine. . . . Let the whole earth His power confess, let the whole earth adore His grace; the Gentile with the Jew shall join in work and worship so divine’ (Isaac Watts, ‘Bless, O My Soul! The Living God’). Amen.”

Father, never let me forget why I gather with my brothers and sisters. I pray that you move in my heart so that I always look forward to being with your people, whether it is a gathering to worship you, or to fellowship over a meal or some other event. May your Spirit lead me to always delight in the community of faith.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

