“Alleluia From Head To Foot”

Today is Thursday, November 17, 2016. Seven days until Thanksgiving!

Quote of the Day

“Do one thing every day that scares you.” – Eleanor Roosevelt (I do . . . I drive to work.)

Word of the Day

Sycophant – a self-seeking, servile flatterer; fawning parasite.

Today is Use Less Stuff Day. The older I get, the less stuff I need. And, I find that I care less about the stuff that I already have. It is, after all, just stuff.

100 days until the first Spring Training game, and 137 days until Opening Day. Yes, the countdown has begun.

Rick Porcello won the Cy Young award for the American League. And he should have. He won 22 games on the season, and his team won a division championship. Kate Upton is made because Justin Verlander didn’t win it. I’m surprised that he was even in the running. He only won 16 games, and his team didn’t make the playoffs. Just because he’s your boyfriend doesn’t mean he should get the Cy Young award, Kate. Max Scherzer won for the National League.

I don’t know much else, this morning, so on to the devotions.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Oh come, let us worship and bow down; let us kneel before the LORD, our Maker!
For he is our God, and we are the people of his pasture, and the sheep of his hand.
Psalm 95:6-7
So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. Psalm 90:12
The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2
I will look with favor on the faithful in the land, that they may dwell with me. Psalm 101:6

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Praise the LORD! Praise the name of the LORD, give praise, O servants of the LORD,
who stand in the house of the LORD, in the courts of the house of our God!
Praise the LORD, for the LORD is good; sing to his name, for it is pleasant!
For the LORD has chosen Jacob for himself, Israel as his own possession.
Psalm 135:1-4

Our biblical faith should have praise as its bedrock, firmly and deeply embedded. St. Augustine said, “The Christian is an Alleluia from head to foot!”

“‘Father, Son, and Holy Ghost, help us to adore Thee, till, with all the angel host, low we fall before Thee; till, throughout our early days guided, loved, forgiven, we can blend our songs of praise with the song of heaven!’ (Cyril Argentine Alington, ‘Come, Ye People, Rise and Sing’). Amen.”

Father, direct my spirit to unceasing praise, as I live through this day. No matter what comes my way, today, let my lips bring forth praise and adoration to you, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Glory be!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

