The Cost of Forgiveness

“The only ground on which God can forgive me is through the Cross of my Lord.”

Today is Saturday, November 19, 2016. Five more days until Thanksgiving!

Quote of the Day

“Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity.” – Albert Einstein

Word of the Day

Meshuggener (noun, muh-SHUG-uh-ner) – a foolish or crazy person

Today is World Toilet Day. Not meant to be humorous, the purpose is to draw attention to the number of places in the world that don’t have sanitary conditions.

We had an awesome time last night, seeing and hearing the Alan Parsons Live Project at The Majestic Theatre in Dallas, last night. I have written my review of the concert, which can be found at my other blog.

I am currently waiting on the pool repair guy. He called, and it sounds like he won’t be here until close to noon, which was the end of the projected window for this morning. Oh, well. I just hope he’s finished in time for us to leave for the band concert in Southlake. If not, I guess C won’t be able to go, as I need to be there by around 3:30 or so.

C is currently at a local vet clinic, getting a free checkup on our new kitty, Rocky (short for Rachmaninoff, as he is a Russian Blue mix).

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Awake, my glory! Awake, O harp and lyre! I will awake the dawn! Psalm 57:8

O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

For you alone are the Holy One,
you alone are the Lord,
you alone are the Most High,
Jesus Christ,
with the Holy Spirit,
in the Glory of God the Father.

Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God. Psalm 31:5

(From Praying With the Psalms)

He it was who struck down the firstborn of Egypt, both of man and of beast;
who in your midst, O Egypt, sent signs and wonders against Pharaoh and all his servants;
who struck down many nations and killed mighty kings,
Sihon, king of the Amorites, and Og, king of Bashan, and all the kingdoms of Canaan,
and gave their land as a heritage, a heritage to his people Israel.
Your name, O LORD, endures forever, your renown, O LORD, throughout all ages.
For the LORD will vindicate his people and have compassion on his servants.
Psalm 135:8-14

“The praising mind moves from the stuff of creation to the data of history. God is not only magnificent in what he has made, he is tremendous in what he does; he has made a glorious world and he acts out a stirring salvation.”

“Thank you, O God, for giving me a splendid world in which to live and for living in that world with me; for providing this place for living and then entering the process of living itself; for being both Creator and Savior to me, in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Into your hand I commit my spirit; you have redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God. Psalm 31:5

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

And when he comes, he will convict the world concerning sin and righteousness and judgment. John 15:8

How many of us have truly been convicted of our sin? Most of us have been “disturbed because of having done wrong things.” But when we are truly convicted of our sinfulness, we have this dreadful feeling that there is no way God could forgive us. He does, of course, but at what cost? “It cost the rending of His heart in the Death of Christ to enable Him to do so.”

Why does God forgive us? Is it because, as it is popular to say, God is love? Chambers calls this idea “shallow nonsense.” He says that, once we are truly convicted of sin, we will never say that again. “The only ground on which God can forgive me is through the Cross of my Lord.”

To be forgiven is more than just being saved from hell and “made right for heaven.” It means that “I am forgiven into a re-created relationship, into identification with God in Christ.”

Father, remind me of my sinfulness, from time to time. Usually, I don’t need reminding, but I believe that I need the conviction, sometimes, so that I do not forget the cost of my forgiveness, as well as the purpose of my forgiveness. Keep drawing me into this relationship, this identification with Christ. Teach me your ways, that I may walk in your truth.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus

Blessed Lord, who caused all holy Scriptures to be written for our learning:
Grant me so to hear them, read, mark, learn, and inwardly digest them,
that I may embrace and ever hold fast the blessed hope of everlasting life,
which you have given us in our Savior Jesus Christ;
who lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen.
(The Divine Hours)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

