Thanksgiving

Today is Thursday, November 24, 2016. It is Thanksgiving in the U.S. Happy Thanksgiving!

Quote of the Day

“I am grateful for what I am and have. My thanksgiving is perpetual.” – Henry David Thoreau

Word of the Day

Boon – something to be thankful for; blessing; benefit.

Today is Celebrate Your Unique Talent Day. As unique literally means “the only one of its kind,” I doubt very seriously that anyone has a truly “unique” talent. However, I celebrate the talent that God has given me to make music. I don’t make it as well as I used to, but it’s still there, and with a little practice, I might get it back up to its best point. And one of the things that I am most thankful for is music and the talent that I have to make it.

So today is Thanksgiving Day, and we are getting ready to go to Mineral Wells to celebrate the day with my mother, along with R & J. Unlike last year, we will be coming back home this evening, as it seems like the last weekend was full of activity, and we are looking forward to a couple of days of rest at home.

We made dump cake and sopapilla cheesecake last night, and C is making mashed potatoes and the obligatory (yet delicious) green bean casserole this morning. My mother has a ham and will have a few other things, as well. No turkeys for us. I’m not that crazy about turkey, anyway.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Teach me your way, O LORD, that I may walk in your truth; unite my heart to fear your name. Psalm 86:11

Sing to the LORD with thanksgiving; make melody to our God on the lyre! Psalm 147:7

(From Praying With the Psalms)

It is he who remembered us in our low estate, for his steadfast love endures forever;
and rescued us from our foes, for his steadfast love endures forever;
he who gives food to all flesh, for his steadfast love endures forever.
Give thanks to the God of heaven, for his steadfast love endures forever.
Psalm 136:23-26

“The phrase ‘his steadfast love endures forever’ has been repeated twenty-six times in this psalm. Will the repetition dull our minds into a pious stupor? Or will they condition the reflexes of our spirits to respond with quick praise to any stimulus?”

“O God, you do so many things in so many places–and I miss so much of it.
I am lethargic in my responses, unbelieving in my reactions.
I want to be more alive to the world of grace,
more alert to the motions of mercy,
more responsive to the descent of the Spirit. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Behold, as the eyes of servants look to the hand of their master, as the eyes of a maidservant to the hand of her mistress, so our eyes look to the LORD our God, till he has mercy upon us. Psalm 123:2

“This verse is a description of entire reliance upon God. Just as the eyes of the servant are riveted on his master, so our eyes are up unto God and our knowledge of His countenance is gained.” When we stop lifting our eyes to the Father, our spirits fade and weaken.

Father, help me to keep my eyes on you, so that my spirit will not leak, fade, and weaken. It is difficult; there are so many distractions, and the flesh welcomes the distractions. Help me to rely solely on you for everything.
I am thankful, this day, Father. I am thankful for the blood of Jesus that covers me and washes my sin away. I am thankful for the various spiritual activities that you have ordained for us to participate in, so that we might grow in you. I am thankful for my family, my beautiful and wonderful wife, the spiritual teachings from my mother and my father, and for the children with which you blessed us. May we all give thanks to you on this day as we celebrate together.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Colossians 3:15

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

