One Way

“There is only one way in which I can get right with God, and that is by the Death of Jesus Christ.”

Today is Thursday, December 1, 2016. Welcome to December. Twenty-four days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“The heart has its reasons of which reason knows nothing.” – Blaise Pascal

Word of the Day

Thaumaturgy the performance of miracles; specifically : magic

Today is Eat A Red Apple Day. I probably won’t be doing that, as we currently do not have any apples. I might eat a banana, though. Which isn’t close at all.

C is already on her way up to the hospital, this morning, hoping to get a visit with her step-dad before he goes into surgery. The surgery is scheduled for 7:00 AM. It’s going to be risky, due to his already frail health, but they have to try to fix his elbows and knee. Those of you who are pray-ers, please lift him up.

I neglected to mention, earlier, that we are getting free lunch at work, today. Somewhere around three weeks ago, our site passed the 1000 day mark of safety, having no lost-time accidents. So management is rewarding us. We are having BBQ brought in.

86 days until the first Spring Training game.
123 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Psalm 100:3

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him. Psalm 62:5

Your decrees are very trustworthy; holiness befits your house, O LORD, forevermore. Psalm 93:5

In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. And the virgin’s name was Mary. And he came to her and said, “Greetings, O favored one, the Lord is with you!” But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and tried to discern what sort of greeting this might be. And the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus. Luke 2:26-31

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Where shall I go from your Spirit? Or where shall I flee from your presence? 
If I ascend to heaven, you are there! If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! 
If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, 
  even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me. 
  If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” 
even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you.
Psalm 139:7-12

“God cannot be avoided.” We cannot run away from him; staying away from church does not keep us out of the sight of God. Ignoring him will not make him go away. “Always and everywhere, he is the one with whom we have to do.”

“God, when I am lonely, I want you to be close to me but feel you are far away; when I am guilty, I want you to be far away but can’t escape the sense of your presence. My feelings, I know, have little to do with the reality of your presence. Thank you for being with me to bless and not condemn, to comfort and not accuse, even in Jesus Christ. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

For whoever keeps the whole law but fails in one point has become accountable for all of it. James 2:10

This is a very important concept for us. “The moral law does not consider us as weak human beings at all, it takes no account of our heredity and infirmities, it demands that we be absolutely moral.” This is a truth that many fail to understand. For those who are not believers in Christ, yet somehow manage to believe in God, there is a prevailing notion that they can possible be “good enough” to get to heaven. The idea is that if their “good works” outweigh their “bad works,” they will make it. The law of God does not allow for this.

As James so aptly points out, here, if there is one failure, just one, all is lost, there is no hope. “I, a guilty sinner, can never get right with God, it is impossible.” As Paul says, in Romans 7:24, Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

“There is only one way in which I can get right with God, and that is by the Death of Jesus Christ.” We cannot obey our way to perfection. The thing is, though, Jesus, himself claims his yoke to be “easy.” Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. (Matthew 11:28-30)

Step into the easy yoke of Jesus Christ. It is the only way to “get right with God.”

Father, I praise you that you have drawn me into this life. I know that I still experience daily failures, sometimes hourly. But I also believe that I am covered by the blood of Jesus, and that, through his life and death, and by the power of the Holy Spirit, I have been set right with you and are kept right with you. It is not a license to do as I please, and I pray your forgiveness for when I slip into that way of thinking. Draw me further in, teach me the disciplines that are required to live this life, and enable me to do so.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. (John 15:4)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

