Fearfully and Wonderfully Made

Today is Friday, November 2, 2016. Twenty-three days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.” – Joseph Campbell

Word of the Day

Faustian – sacrificing spiritual values for power, knowledge, or material gain.

Today is Bartender Appreciation Day. Hey, bartenders need a day, too, right?

C’s step-dad’s surgery went well, yesterday. It took a long time, around six and a half hours. All reports said it went well, but they are keeping him highly medicated for a day or two to keep him resting. So his condition is delicate, and he will remain in ICU for a time.

I’ll be taking my music gear to the Night of Worship location, tonight, so it can be set up in advance. We are practicing earlier than usual tomorrow, because a young lady that is friends with the leader will be singing with us.

85 days until the first Spring Training game.
122 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Come and see what God has done: he is awesome in his deeds toward the children of man. Psalm 66:5

Wondrously show your steadfast love, O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand. 
Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings
Psalm 17:7-8

Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success! 
Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD.
Psalm 118:25-26

For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ. 2 Corinthians 4:6

(From Praying With the Psalms)

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. 
  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. 
  My frame was not hidden from you, when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth. 
  Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them. 
  How precious to me are your thoughts, O God! How vast is the sum of them! 
  If I would count them, they are more than the sand. I awake, and I am still with you.
Psalm 139:13-18

The miracle of creation necessarily stirs up awe in our spirits. What a mystery it is, even as much as science has figured out. We are each “intricately woven” in our mother’s womb. And God saw our entire lives before we were even born! “‘Every man carries in his own body reasons enough for reverent gratitude’ (Alexander Maclaren, The Psalms, 2:388).”

“Father, I have complained about my body when I ought to thank you for it. I have grumbled at is pains and been dissatisfied with its shape. Bring me to a state of shocked wonder at its intricacies, in awe of its marvels. Into a body not dissimilar to mine, and into flesh constituted like mine, you entered, O God, for my salvation. I praise you for it because of and through Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I pray, as Eugene Peterson, that you would cause me to marvel at the wonders of my body, instead of complaining about it. Let me see your handiwork, not only in my body, but in all the world around me. Let this be a cause of constant praise today.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

