Strength For Overcoming

Today is Monday, December 5, 2016. Twenty days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“I always wanted to be somebody, but now I realize I should have been more specific.” – Lily Tomlin

Word of the Day

Campanology – the principles or art of making bells, bell ringing, etc. (I was surprised. I totally expected something about camping.)

Today is Sachertorte Day. What is “sachertorte,” you ask? It would be easier to show you.

Sachertorte
Sachertorte

I mean, just look at all of that chocolaty goodness! Mmmm . . .

We had a nice day, yesterday. The morning was hard, as is always the morning after the Night of Worship. I playfully suggested to the leader that we move Night of Worship to 4:00 PM because the morning after Night of Worship is always hard. We sang a really pretty song called “Noel,” but it’s one of those that I feel is not a good “congregational” song.

Tonight is band practice, possibly the last one for this year. They are having a Christmas party next Monday night, but we probably are not going to attend. We already have a lot going on during the season. C’s company Christmas party is this coming Saturday night, and we will be attending that. It’s always fun. Then the following Friday evening, we are scheduled to have a worship team meeting, followed by Yuleslide in Grapevine on Saturday, the 17th. Then, of course, the next weekend is Christmas Eve on Saturday and Christmas on Sunday.

82 days until the first Spring Training game.
119 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Monday of the second week of Advent

O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. Psalm 51:15

Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law. Psalm 119:18

I give thanks to you, O Lord my God, with my whole heart, and I will glorify your name forever. Psalm 86:12

For who is God, but the LORD? And who is a rock, except our God? Psalm 18:31

Great are the works of the LORD, studied by all who delight in them. Psalm 111:2

(From Praying With the Psalms)

I say to the LORD, You are my God; give ear to the voice of my pleas for mercy, O LORD! 
O LORD, my Lord, the strength of my salvation, you have covered my head in the day of battle. 
  Grant not, O LORD, the desires of the wicked; do not further their evil plot, or they will be exalted! Selah.
Psalm 140:6-8

There is no need that we have, individually or collectively, that will exhaust the resources of our God’s ability to help us. Grace has no limitations. There is always “strength for overcoming.” In the words of Martin Luther, “The prince of darkness grim, we tremble not for him; his rage we can endure, for lo! his doom is sure; one little word shall fell him.” (A Mighty Fortress Is Our God)

“‘No more we doubt Thee, Glorious Prince of life!
Life is nought without Thee;
aid us in our strife;
make us more than conquerors, through Thy deathless love;
bring us safe through Jordan to Thy home above.
Thine is the glory, risen, conquering Son;
endless is the victory Thou o’er death hast won’
(Edmond Budry, ‘Thine Is the Glory,’ translated by Richard Birch Hoyle). Amen.”

Father, may my confidence, this day, be in the infinite nature of your resources to help me, and your grace to strengthen me. I know that there are things that I must do in order to increase my knowledge of you and my faith in you, so I pray for the motivation to do them. I want to keep learning about you and about Jesus and the things that he said and taught. Drive that desire in me, Father.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

2 thoughts on “Strength For Overcoming

  1. Hi! I’ve been reading your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx!
    Just wanted to say keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

