You Gotta Move

Today is Tuesday, December 6, 2016. Nineteen more days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“Progress always involves risk; you can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first.” – Frederick Wilcox

Word of the Day

Mansuetude – mildness; gentleness. Another word that might not mean what you think from looking at it.

Today is Mitten Tree Day. That’s right, I said Mitten Tree Day. I picked it just because of how strange that sounds.

I did not go to band practice last night. For whatever reason, I just didn’t want to. I felt tired, and I just wanted to be home. Unfortunately, C had already made plans to have dinner with one of the ladies from church, and talk about work stuff. So I brought Taco Bell home for S and me (not the whole store, just a few items), watched an episode of The Walking Dead, and played Fallout 4 until C got home, around 9.

81 days until the first Spring Training game.
118 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Tuesday of the second week of Advent

Psa 68:26  “Bless God in the great congregation, the LORD, O you who are of Israel’s fountain!”

Psa 74:20  Have regard for the covenant, for the dark places of the land are full of the habitations of violence.

Psa 17:13-14 Deliver my soul from the wicked by your sword, from men by your hand, O LORD, from men of the world whose portion is in this life.

Psa 30:1-6  A Psalm of David. A song at the dedication of the temple. I will extol you, O LORD, for you have drawn me up and have not let my foes rejoice over me. 
  O LORD my God, I cried to you for help, and you have healed me. 
  O LORD, you have brought up my soul from Sheol; you restored me to life from among those who go down to the pit. 
Sing praises to the LORD, O you his saints, and give thanks to his holy name. 
For his anger is but for a moment, and his favor is for a lifetime. Weeping may tarry for the night, but joy comes with the morning. 
As for me, I said in my prosperity, “I shall never be moved.”

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 140:9-13  As for the head of those who surround me, let the mischief of their lips overwhelm them! 
Let burning coals fall upon them! Let them be cast into fire, into miry pits, no more to rise! 
Let not the slanderer be established in the land; let evil hunt down the violent man speedily! 
  I know that the LORD will maintain the cause of the afflicted, and will execute justice for the needy. 
  Surely the righteous shall give thanks to your name; the upright shall dwell in your presence.

There is a visible difference between the way people and God use power. They are contrasted here. Power easily corrupts people; “when we have the means to assert our lusts and desires over others, we very frequently do it.” But for God, power is part of his expression; “he has the means to lift up the fallen and restore the ruined, and this he continuously does.”

“I welcome every manifestation of your power, Almighty God.
Reestablish in my life the old orders of justice and peace, righteousness and love.
Free me from the power of sin and release in me the power of your salvation. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Gen 9:13  I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth.

We have to step into the covenant relationship with God. Yes, he has saved me, but there are things he will not do until I move. “All the great blessings of God are finished and complete, but they are not mine until I enter into relationship with Him on the basis of His covenant.”

We have to get out of ourselves in our covenant with God, just as God did in his covenant with us. If I sit and wait for God to do something, that is not faith. If I will not believe until God places something in my hand, that is not faith. Faith is believing before I have it. I have to, by faith, step into the “easy yoke” of Jesus. Then God will work in my life; then the blessings will flow; then I will see my faith grow.

I have to let go of myself and present myself, wholly, to God in covenant relationship.

Father, draw me fully into this relationship. Help me to let go of me and all of the baggage that comes with me. After all this time, there are still parts of me that I cling to. I have not yet fully stepped into that covenant, into that easy yoke, and I so desire to. Draw me in, Father; pull me in.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. John 15:4

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

