Arrow Prayers

Today is Wednesday, December 7, 2016. Eighteen days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“Great ideas often receive violent opposition from mediocre minds.” – Albert Einstein

Word of the Day

Asomatous – having no material body; incorporeal.

Today is Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day. It was 75 years ago that Pearl Harbor was bombed by Japanese air forces. “Yesterday, December 7, 1941 — a date which will live in infamy — the United States of America was suddenly and deliberately attacked by naval and air forces of the Empire of Japan.” – President Franklin D. Roosevelt

Besides being Pearl Harbor Day, today is also the thirty-second anniversary of our first date! Yes, on December 7, 1984, after C and I finished our night at the TGIF bowling league, we went to a midnight laser light show at the Noble Planetarium. The rest, as they say, is history.

So it appears that the Red Sox have signed Chris Sale as a starting pitcher, trading some prospects to the Other Sox. I think I’m okay with that, but I seem to remember him being a bit of a hot-head. In another shocking deal, the Red Sox also signed Mitch Moreland! I’m somewhat shocked that the Rangers let him go. I, along with several others, feel that he has always been under-appreciated by the Rangers organization.

80 days until the first Spring Training game.
117 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Wednesday of the second week of Advent

Psa 97:12  Rejoice in the LORD, O you righteous, and give thanks to his holy name!

Psa 86:1-2  Incline your ear, O LORD, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Preserve my life, for I am godly; save your servant, who trusts in you—you are my God.

Psa 28:6  Blessed be the LORD! For he has heard the voice of my pleas for mercy.

Mat 5:6  “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.”

Psa 42:1-2  As a deer pants for flowing streams, so pants my soul for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When shall I come and appear before God?

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 141:1-2 A Psalm of David. O LORD, I call upon you; hasten to me! Give ear to my voice when I call to you! Let my prayer be counted as incense before you, and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice!

What Eugene Peterson refers to as “arrow prayers” are prayers that are spontaneous, on the spur of the moment. They are short, precise petitions, sent up in the heat of the moment. Certainly, planned times of prayer are legitimate, appropriate, and even necessary, “but prayer cannot be confined to such established forms and set times. Empty hands and unstudied words are always welcome before God.”

“Lord, take the half-formed sentences I address to you and the half-conscious movements I make toward you–my interjections and my gestures–and make prayers of petition and praise out of them, in the name of and for the sake of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I have long been a “fan” of spontaneous “arrow prayers,” even to the point of sometimes praying for people that I see in the course of my daily movements. Help me to never forget to do this each day.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

