Keep Watch Over My Lips

Today is Thursday, December 8, 2016. Seventeen days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“I am not afraid of an army of lions led by a sheep; I am afraid of an army of sheep led by a lion.” – Alexander the Great

Word of the Day

StickybeakAustralian Slang. a busybody; meddler.

Today is Pretend To Be A Time Traveler Day. That would be so much fun!

Here in north central Texas, we are about to get our first bout of “cold” weather. By “cold,” of course, we mean “below freezing.” I understand that this makes people from other parts of the country and world laugh at us, but that’s okay. We admit it. We are wimps when it comes to cold weather. Just remember that we’ve had to endure summers with over 100 consecutive days of 100+ temps. Okay, now Iraq and Afghanistan are laughing at us. Never mind. Anyway, it’s supposed to be below freezing, tonight, for the first time, this season. And we are still approximately two weeks away from the beginning of Winter. As Mr. Martin told us, “Winter is coming.”

The latest updates on C’s step-dad seem to indicate that he is on the mend, but they are still struggling with the blood pressure. He has been much more coherent than he was for the first couple of days after the surgery.

We are still trying to figure out what we are doing for the Christmas holidays. We are supposed to have our worship gathering on Christmas Eve, rather than Sunday morning, but that is the time of C’s family’s traditional Christmas gathering, as well. We are still trying to work all that out. The Christmas gifts are rolling in, though, as we do the majority of our shopping online, now. I got one early, last night. I have needed a new keyboard case for a while, as the one that I have been using has been falling apart. Since I started playing at the monthly Night of Worship, I have been using it again. So we got this new case.
keyboard-case
You can’t tell a lot about it from this picture, but it’s a Gator brand case, soft-shell, with a nice, large zipper pocket on the top. It also has what appears to be a quite sturdy wheel assembly on the end.

79 days until the first Spring Training game.
116 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Thursday in the second week of Advent

Psa 96:9  Worship the LORD in the splendor of holiness; tremble before him, all the earth!

Psa 67:1  May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah.

Psa 119:164  Seven times a day I praise you for your righteous rules.

Psa 25:21  May integrity and uprightness preserve me, for I wait for you.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 141:3-4  Set a guard, O LORD, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips! Do not let my heart incline to any evil, to busy myself with wicked deeds in company with men who work iniquity, and let me not eat of their delicacies!

“Spontaneity in prayer develops intimacy with God.” But do you know what else is spontaneous? Gossip and rumors, or “saying whatever comes into our minds without considering the consequences.” So, we are encouraged to speak whatever comes to our hearts and minds before God, but that is not necessarily the best thing to do with others.

“‘Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable to you, O LORD, my rock and my redeemer’ (Psalm 19:14). Amen.”

I echo this prayer, Father. Help me to stop and examine my words before they come out of my mouth today.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

