Surrender

Today is Friday, December 9, 2016. Sixteen days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“It’s not what you look at that matters, it’s what you see.” – Henry David Thoreau

Word of the Day

Empath – A person or being with the paranormal ability to perceive or share the feelings or emotional state of another. Later also more generally: a person who can understand and appreciate another’s feelings, emotions, etc. Immediately, Deanna Troi comes to mind.
deannatroi

Today is Pastry Day. That sounds delicious. But I don’t know that I will have an opportunity to have a pastry today.

Today, there’s not much going on. But I need to practice some more for a song we’re doing Sunday morning at church (Breath of Heaven). I’ll probably try to get in some practice tonight, and then some more tomorrow morning/afternoon. But then, tomorrow night, we have C’s company Christmas party. That’s always fun. They always have a DJ and dancing (I’m sure the “Electric Slide” will happen, as well as “Baby Got Back”).

78 days until the first Spring Training game.
115 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Friday in the second week of Advent

Psa 100:3  Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Psa 5:8  Lead me, O LORD, in your righteousness because of my enemies; make your way straight before me.

Psa 118:25-27  Save us, we pray, O LORD! O LORD, we pray, give us success! Blessed is he who comes in the name of the LORD! We bless you from the house of the LORD. The LORD is God, and he has made his light to shine upon us. Bind the festal sacrifice with cords, up to the horns of the altar!

Psa 69:6  Let not those who hope in you be put to shame through me, O Lord GOD of hosts; let not those who seek you be brought to dishonor through me, O God of Israel.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 141:5-7 Let a righteous man strike me—it is a kindness; let him rebuke me—it is oil for my head; let my head not refuse it. Yet my prayer is continually against their evil deeds. When their judges are thrown over the cliff, then they shall hear my words, for they are pleasant. As when one plows and breaks up the earth, so shall our bones be scattered at the mouth of Sheol.

Sometimes there are difficulties that are associated with righteous living. Other times, it seems that being in alliance with the wicked brings “luxuries and delights.” “But faith plots its way, not on the basis of what feels good and not on the grounds of what looks good, but by compass readings from the word of the Lord.”

“Father in heaven, you never promised that faith would be easy or popular, only that it would be whole and eternal. Keep me faithful to you and guided by your word, so that I will always prefer the bracing rebuke of kindness to the oily flattery of wickedness. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Gal 5:24  And those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

“It is not a question of giving up sin, but of giving up my right to myself, my natural independence and self-assertiveness, and this is where the battle has to be fought.” Good things, things that are noble, are often enemies of what is God’s best for us.

“Beware of refusing to go to the funeral of your own independence.”

Father, we live in a world where it is popular and encouraged to assert one’s rights. I pray that you continue to work in me to give up these “rights.” In truth, before you, I have no rights, because I should be surrendering them all to you. But that is so difficult, especially when we get caught up in the flesh. So help me surrender. Help me to not assert my “rights.” Let me not settle for “good” when your best is available. May I not be satisfied with making mud pies in the front yard when a holiday by the sea is available. May I not be “far too easily pleased.”

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

