Let Us Be One

Today is Monday, December 12, 2016. Thirteen days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“You can’t wait for inspiration, you have to go after it with a club.” – Jack London

Word of the Day

Thrasonical – boastful; vainglorious.

Today is Gingerbread House Day. I’ve already seen a few really nice gingerbread houses. We made one a couple years ago, from a kit that we bought. I’ve never tried to make one from scratch, though. It seems like it might be fun to try sometime.

Yesterday was a tired day, but it went pretty well. The worship gathering went well, but I botched a few chords in “Breath of Heaven.” That was especially disappointing, because during rehearsal, I nailed it. Go figure. We’re supposed to do that one again on Christmas Eve. Unfortunately, we still haven’t quite nailed down what we are doing for Christmas Eve. We are pretty sure we will be going to Mineral Wells on Christmas day, and maybe spending Sunday night there. That’s all still up in the air, as well, though.

Tonight, I don’t have band practice, but C has a gathering with some of the ladies from our church. Perhaps I will make some peach ice cream in the ice cream maker C won at the Christmas part, Saturday night.

75 days until the first Spring Training game.
112 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Monday in the third week of Advent

Psa 103:20-22  Bless the LORD, O you his angels, you mighty ones who do his word, obeying the voice of his word! Bless the LORD, all his hosts, his ministers, who do his will! Bless the LORD, all his works, in all places of his dominion. Bless the LORD, O my soul!

Psa 115:1  Not to us, O LORD, not to us, but to your name give glory, for the sake of your steadfast love and your faithfulness!

Psa 118:24  This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 142:5-7  I cry to you, O LORD; I say, “You are my refuge, my portion in the land of the living.” Attend to my cry, for I am brought very low! Deliver me from my persecutors, for they are too strong for me! Bring me out of prison, that I may give thanks to your name! The righteous will surround me, for you will deal bountifully with me.

Right on the heels of proclaiming that no one takes notice of him, David proceeds to state his confidence that, when he is delivered, he will be surrounded by the support of the community of faith. “God’s acceptance and embrace are very often expressed through welcoming words and supportive acts in the community of the people of faith.”

“Lord Jesus Christ, be at my side at the moments I feel isolated and alone. Use my sin-induced loneliness to prepare me for a faith-created community. Lead me to brother and sisters in faith who share a common need and express a shared devotion. Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Joh 17:22  The glory that you have given me I have given to them, that they may be one even as we are one.

What is personality? Chambers defines it as “that peculiar, uncalculable thing that is meant when we speak of ourselves as distinct from everyone else.” Like an island in the ocean, there are depths of personality that are deeper than even we, ourselves, can grasp. Only God can fully grasp each individual personality.

After this point, Chambers launches into some vague psychology that I’m not convinced is 100% accurate, as he differentiates between individuality and personality. It certainly isn’t biblical stuff, but I do get what he is aiming for. The main point, with which I do agree, seems to be that we cannot reach the full potential of our personality until we allow it to be merged with Jesus. When we become captivated by the love of Christ, our personalities merge and we become one, even as Christ and the Father are one. “If you give up your right to yourself to God, the real true nature of your personality answers to God straight away.” We become emancipated from always having to insist on our rights, and we are transfigured. “The transfiguring element is love, personal devotion to Jesus. Love is the outpouring of one personality in fellowship with another personality.”

Father, I see the truth of this reading, and pray for that merging of personalities. This has been in process for decades, now, and I pray for it to continue as I grow in Christ. While each of us is distinct from one another, let us all be one in Jesus. Help me to keep considering that my rights have been forfeited, voluntarily, to you. Let that be right in front of me all day, today, as I go through this Monday workday.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

