Hide Not Your Face From Me

“I need you, O God. I cannot sustain meaning and purpose by myself. I don’t have within me the stuff to make life whole. I run out of resources. I run out of strength. In my emptiness I wait for your fullness. ‘Fill me with life anew’ (Edwin Hatch, ‘Breathe on Me, Breath of God’). Amen.”

Today is Wednesday, December 14, 2016. Eleven days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.” – Douglas Adams

Word of the Day

Peccadillo – a very minor or slight sin or offense; a trifling fault.

Today is Bouillabaisse Day. I can barely spell that. Bouillabaisse is a stew or soup dish, made primarily from fish. It appears to have its origins in Marseilles.

We had some of the peach ice cream last night, after dinner, and I must say that I was slightly disappointed. It tasted better straight out of the canister. The main issue, I think, was the lemon juice in the recipe. It was a little overpowering for us. C agreed with me. The first thing I tasted was lemon. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still good and tasty, but I think I may try a different recipe next time.

Before we ate dinner, C made some of her Kahlua fudge. We will be cutting that up tonight, after work, and taking some to work tomorrow. Hopefully, we will have some left by Christmas. I’m not terribly confident about that, though. That stuff is amazing.

I should have stayed off of Facebook this morning, because we didn’t stay up to see who won The Voice, last night. It’s all over Facebook this morning, that Sundance Head, the country singer from Texas, won the competition over Billy Gilman, the child star. I’m actually happy about that. While Billy is definitely a good performer with a stellar voice, he kind of already had his “shot,” you know. I mean, he can’t help it that his voice change ruined that part of career, and he will certainly go on to make a record, but Sundance seemed to have more passion in his performing. We’ll probably watch the finale episode tonight, anyway. For one thing, Blake Shelton said that Kiss was going to perform with Sundance. This I gotta see!

73 days until the first Spring Training game.
110 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Wednesday in the third week of Advent

Psa 145:21  My mouth will speak the praise of the LORD, and let all flesh bless his holy name forever and ever.

O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy on me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy on me.
O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

Psa 36:5  Your steadfast love, O LORD, extends to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds.

Psa 145:1  I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name forever and ever.

Psa 138:1-8  Of David. I give you thanks, O LORD, with my whole heart; before the gods I sing your praise; I bow down toward your holy temple and give thanks to your name for your steadfast love and your faithfulness, for you have exalted above all things your name and your word. On the day I called, you answered me; my strength of soul you increased. All the kings of the earth shall give you thanks, O LORD, for they have heard the words of your mouth, and they shall sing of the ways of the LORD, for great is the glory of the LORD. For though the LORD is high, he regards the lowly, but the haughty he knows from afar. Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life; you stretch out your hand against the wrath of my enemies, and your right hand delivers me. The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me; your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever. Do not forsake the work of your hands.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 143:7-12  Answer me quickly, O LORD! My spirit fails! Hide not your face from me, lest I be like those who go down to the pit. Let me hear in the morning of your steadfast love, for in you I trust. Make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul. Deliver me from my enemies, O LORD! I have fled to you for refuge. Teach me to do your will, for you are my God! Let your good Spirit lead me on level ground! For your name’s sake, O LORD, preserve my life! In your righteousness bring my soul out of trouble! And in your steadfast love you will cut off my enemies, and you will destroy all the adversaries of my soul, for I am your servant.

When we pray, we should not “develop a stiff upper lip.” We are not self-sufficient, and to pretend to be so in prayer is self-defeating. We must be honest in prayer, honest enough to “admit weakness and confess need in the presence of the god who is able to revive and strengthen us.”

“I need you, O God. I cannot sustain meaning and purpose by myself. I don’t have within me the stuff to make life whole. I run out of resources. I run out of strength. In my emptiness I wait for your fullness. ‘Fill me with life anew’ (Edwin Hatch, ‘Breathe on Me, Breath of God’). Amen.”

Father, I cannot improve upon the prayer of David in Psalm 143. I desire to “hear in the morning of your steadfast love!” That is one of the main reasons that I get up early and sit here at this computer desk. I pray that you will “make me know the way I should go, for to you I lift up my soul.” Show me the way to walk today. Give me the answers that I need to the questions that I will face. I pray for your wisdom to permeate my being today. “Teach me to do your will, for you are my God!” I ask you to do all of these things, just as David did, for your name’s sake. Let it be you who is glorified in all things.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

“In returning and rest you shall be saved; in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.” . . . Therefore the LORD waits to be gracious to you, and therefore he exalts himself to show mercy to you. For the LORD is a God of justice; blessed are all those who wait for him. (Isaiah 30:15, 18)

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

