Strength For the Fight

Today is Thursday, December 15. Ten days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“The universe is made of stories, not of atoms.” ― Muriel Rukeyser

Word of the Day

Cataclysm – any violent upheaval, especially one of a social or political nature.

Today is Cat Herders Day. Hah! Have you ever tried herding cats? I guess if it’s feeding time . . .

We’re having a snack day at work today. People are signed up to bring different snacks, and they will be available in the break room all day. I’m taking a container of C’s Kahlua fudge. I’m taking a lunch, but no dessert or other snacks.

Next week, we’re doing a Secret Santa thing, and I signed up for that, too. I guess I need to get a gift.

We have finally made our decision about Christmas Eve. We will be going to C’s sister’s house for the evening, which means we will not make our Christmas Eve service. Christmas Day, we will have our Christmas at the house, then head to Mineral Wells for the day, and spend Sunday night there.

72 days until the first Spring Training game.
109 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Thursday in the third week of Advent

Psa 51:15  O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.

Psa 86:1-2  Incline your ear, O LORD, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Preserve my life, for I am godly; save your servant, who trusts in you—you are my God.

Psa 90:1-2  Lord, you have been our dwelling place in all generations. Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.

Psa 85:9  Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him, that glory may dwell in our land.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 144:1-4  Of David. Blessed be the LORD, my rock, who trains my hands for war, and my fingers for battle; he is my steadfast love and my fortress, my stronghold and my deliverer, my shield and he in whom I take refuge, who subdues peoples under me. O LORD, what is man that you regard him, or the son of man that you think of him? Man is like a breath; his days are like a passing shadow.

Our Father is infinitely strong. But he does not use this strength only for himself. He shares it with us and uses it for us. “He is a stronghold in which we find refuge, but he also makes us strong in the fight of faith.”

“God, my rock, train me in obedience and witness that will express your strong love and your victorious salvation, so that I am equipped to do battle in your name under the banner of your love. Amen.”

Father, as I walk through this day, may I find that strength readily available; strength to believe in Jesus, as well as believing the words of Jesus, and strength to “do battle in your name” with whatever happens to come my way.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

