Faith Is A Battlefield

Today is Friday, December 16, 2016. Nine days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“The greatest way to live with honor in this world is to be what we pretend to be.” – Socrates

Word of the Day

Impetuous – marked by impulsive vehemence or passion.

Today is Chocolate Covered Anything Day. I like the sound of that.

C and I had a wonderful time last night. We met up with a group of her friends from previous jobs. At one point, I believe all of them worked together at the same place. There were a total of seven of us there, and it was great fun. We went to a Saltgrass restaurant. I had the “Steak and Cake,” which is a filet with a crab cake. Expensive, yes, but it was quite delicious. Someone had already ordered some chips and queso, and their queso was amazing. Afterward, I stopped at Sonic for food for S, who was quite upset that she had not been invited to this shindig.

Tonight, we have a worship team meeting at the worship leader’s house. I guess we’ll have to go there straight from work, as it is supposed to begin at 6:00 PM.

It’s supposed to get really cold around here, Saturday and Sunday. By “really cold,” I mean below freezing. Like 21 degrees for the low Sunday and Monday mornings.

71 days until the first Spring Training game.
108 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Friday in the third week of Advent

Psa 55:16-17  But I call to God, and the LORD will save me. Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan, and he hears my voice.

Psa 70:1  Make haste, O God, to deliver me! O LORD, make haste to help me! 

Psa 65:4  Blessed is the one you choose and bring near, to dwell in your courts! We shall be satisfied with the goodness of your house, the holiness of your temple!

Psa 33:20  Our soul waits for the LORD; he is our help and our shield.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 144:5-8  Bow your heavens, O LORD, and come down! Touch the mountains so that they smoke! Flash forth the lightning and scatter them; send out your arrows and rout them! Stretch out your hand from on high; rescue me and deliver me from the many waters, from the hand of foreigners, whose mouths speak lies and whose right hand is a right hand of falsehood.

“The life of faith is not calm repose on a warm ocean of tranquility; it is pitched battle on a field noisy with conflict.” Although, I would say, that there are definitely times of “calm repose” and “tranquility.” But I agree that it is more of a battle. And it is more God’s battle than ours, which gives us the confidence of pre-determined victory. “Faith discovers the signs of his action and celebrates the power of of his salvation.”

“Victorious God, when I see the conflict rage, I grow fearful; when I see the proud grow arrogant, I become timid. Put new heart in me by surrounding me with the signs of your triumph, in the strong name of Jesus. Amen.”

Father, show me these signs of your victory, as I walk through this day, that may not lose confidence in your plan for my life. Help me to see that you have me where I am for a reason; a reason that you have not yet revealed. Do I trust you? Help me to trust you. In the words of that guy in the Bible, “I do believe! Help my unbelief!”

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

The LORD bless you and keep you; the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you; the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace.

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

