Triumphant Melodies

Today is Saturday, December 17, 2016. Eight more days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“Be patient and understanding. Life is too short to be vengeful or malicious.” – Phillips Brooks

Word of the Day

Sociolect – a variety of a language used by a particular social group; a social dialect.

Today is Wright Brothers Day, commemorating that historic first powered air flight at Kitty Hawk, North Carolina.

Our worship team meeting last night was interesting. We started off with some delicious brisket, prepared by our main leader/singer. Then we settled in for some conversation. The pastor was there, so he shared his heart, as well. We discussed some ideas about moving forward into 2017. While the tone, at times, may have been a bit misleading, I believe the takeaway for me was that we are a team, and that everything that happens on Sunday mornings in that room at the YMCA is our responsibility. It is our “duty” (for lack of a better word) to have our hearts prepared when we arrive, and that prayer is one of the most important things we can do, in regard to setting up for the worship gathering. The general idea is that this thing we call worship is serious business, and we don’t want to play around with it.

This morning, I am supposed to be in Grapevine by 9:45 for the Yuleslide event. We rehearse from 10:00 to noon, have a lunch break, and then play at 2:00 PM. The arctic weather is not supposed to arrive until after sunset, this evening, so it should still be in the upper sixties when we play. Of course, there’s always a chance that it might arrive early, which makes dressing for an outdoor concert really tricky!

Nothing going on this evening, that I know of. Hopefully, C and I will take advantage of that to just chill for a few hours and catch up on some TV watching, since we’ve had something going on three different nights this past week.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Saturday in the third week of Advent

Psa 34:3  Oh, magnify the LORD with me, and let us exalt his name together!

Psa 119:18  Open my eyes, that I may behold wondrous things out of your law.

Psa 57:9-10  I will give thanks to you, O Lord, among the peoples; I will sing praises to you among the nations. For your steadfast love is great to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 144:9-11  I will sing a new song to you, O God; upon a ten-stringed harp I will play to you, who gives victory to kings, who rescues David his servant from the cruel sword. Rescue me and deliver me from the hand of foreigners, whose mouths speak lies and whose right hand is a right hand of falsehood.

Music has always played a part in battle. Who hasn’t seen images of fife and drum marching in front of the troops, going into battle? Music fortifies our souls and lifts our spirits, preparing us for whatever battle lies ahead of us. We sing triumphant melodies, reinforcing our victory over sin and death.

“For weapons of faith to do battle in your name and for tunes of faith to sing the triumphs of your grace, I give you thanks, Almighty God, ‘who gives us the victory through our LORD Jesus Christ’ (1 Corinthians 15:57). Amen.”

Father, I praise you for music; for the sounds of instruments, as well as the songs of faith that we sing from day to day and week to week. I thank you for the talent that you so graciously gave me. Forgive me for not always using it properly. I pray that your music will flow out of me for the rest of my days, both through the instruments that I play, and through my voice as I sing for you, whenever I have the chance. Let this music soar in me, propelling me through each battle that I face in your plan for my life.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Glory be to God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, so it is now and so it shall ever be, world without end. Alleluia. Amen.

Grace and peace, friends.

3 thoughts on “Triumphant Melodies

    1. Thank you so much, Christy!! I pray that your holiday season is full of cheer and good will! I appreciate your efforts to recognize inspiring women. That’s important. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

