Jesus Brought Value

“Great and glorious God, what a choir I find around me. What rich themes of praise I can share. My voice with its thin sounds, unsure and imprecise, joins the great praises of the generations and I hear strong and harmonious sounds, resonant with grace. Hallelujah! Amen.”

Today is Tuesday, December 20, 2016. One more day until Winter. Five more days until Christmas!

Quote of the Day

“The pay is good and I can walk to work.” – John F. Kennedy

Word of the Day

Humbuggery – pretense; sham

Today is Games Day, a “day of carefree whimsical frivolity” created by Games Workshop, a British game production company. It’s a good day to relax and have some good times with your favorite games. It would be a better day for that if it weren’t in the middle of the work week.

The Christmas presents keep rolling in, as we get closer to that magical day. I’ve got some serious wrapping to do, and will probably get that done tomorrow evening, while C is out with the leadership team from her job. We still need to acquire some stocking stuffers, but the local dollar store is close by, and is usually an excellent resource for such things.

It looks like I will have to work Friday, which was supposed to be our holiday for Christmas Eve, since it occurs on Saturday. I’m not terribly happy about that, but “c’est la vie,” as they say. I’ve been told it will be overtime plus holiday pay, so that’s double time and a half. So at least the money will be good. I would rather not work, though.

67 days until the first Spring Training game.
104 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Tuesday in the fourth week of Advent

Psa 66:16  Come and hear, all you who fear God, and I will tell what he has done for my soul.

Psa 67:1-2  May God be gracious to us and bless us and make his face to shine upon us, Selah. that your way may be known on earth, your saving power among all nations.

Psa 119:54  Your statutes have been my songs in the house of my sojourning.

Psa 51:10  Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

Psa 61:1-5  To the choirmaster: with stringed instruments. Of David. Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the end of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. Let me dwell in your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings! Selah. For you, O God, have heard my vows; you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 145:4-7  One generation shall commend your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts. On the glorious splendor of your majesty, and on your wondrous works, I will meditate. They shall speak of the might of your awesome deeds, and I will declare your greatness. They shall pour forth the fame of your abundant goodness and shall sing aloud of your righteousness.

Praise is something that transcends generations. We lift up praises, echoing shouts of praise from centuries gone by. When we declare themes of praise that were introduced hundreds of years ago, we produce “the voice of a great multitude, like the roar of many waters and like the sound of mighty peals of thunder, crying out, ‘Hallelujah! For the Lord our God the Almighty reigns.'” (Revelation 19:6)

“Great and glorious God, what a choir I find around me. What rich themes of praise I can share. My voice with its thin sounds, unsure and imprecise, joins the great praises of the generations and I hear strong and harmonious sounds, resonant with grace. Hallelujah! Amen.”

(From My Utmost For His Highest)

Joh 12:32  And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.

Do we truly understand why Jesus Christ died? If we think it was out of sympathy for the human race, we have made the Cross a farce. If we think it was just because he loved us, we are off course. “What the world needs is not ‘a little bit of love,’ but a surgical operation.”

If someone we know or encounter is in trouble, and we can help them with sympathy or understanding, we are traitors to Jesus Christ. “You have to keep your soul rightly related to God and pour out for others on His line, not pour out on the human line and ignore God.” Any doctrine that we bring that is not “imbedded [sic] in the Cross of Jesus will lead astray.”

While this reading might seem a bit harsh on some levels, the point is well-taken. We cannot help humanity with warm, fuzzy poetry and “positive thoughts.” The only solution for the ills of humanity is the Cross of Jesus Christ. The problem is not a lack of self esteem or confidence. The problem is sin. That’s not a popular message, these days, but it’s the truth.

That being said, we still have to love people. All people. When Jesus Christ came to earth, he brought value to human beings. All human beings. He brought value to children in a world that had no respect for children. He brought value to women in a world that had no respect for women. He brought value to people of all ages and races. If we look around at the current situation in our world, it is easy to see that we have not come very far at all. The Church has not done a good job of keeping up with Jesus. We need to change that.

Father, I look around me and see “terror on every side.” The world is not a happy place, these days. I pray for the true message of the Gospel to come forth from your Church like waves of peace and healing. May we proclaim your truth (in love) through this Christmas season, giving the world something to hope for and in. There is hope. Help us to proclaim it. Help me to proclaim it in everything I do.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Mat 1:21  “She will bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus, for he will save his people from their sins.”

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

