Let the Godly Exult in Glory

Today is Friday, December 30, 2016. Two days left in 2016.

Quote of the Day

“Hope smiles from the threshold of the year to come, whispering, ‘It will be happier.'” – Alfred Lord Tennyson

Word of the Day

Senectitude – the last stage of life; old age.

Today is Bacon Day. What else needs to be said?

The inventor of the “red solo cup” died yesterday. I shared that on Facebook with the comment, “And not being satisfied with normal celebrities, 2016 digs deep.” An actress from General Hospital also passed away yesterday. Barbara Tarbuck. I’m planning a recap in a special blog entry tomorrow. Or maybe Sunday, since there will still be time for 2016 to take from us, up until midnight tomorrow night.

I’m feeling better, this morning, than I have since Monday. I almost didn’t go to work yesterday, but finally decided to, which was probably the wise thing to do. It would have been a day without pay, as I am out of PTO, having scheduled my last two hours to leave early today. That’s right. I’ll be leaving work at 2:00 PM today. I left at 2:00 PM yesterday, too, as we had run out of stuff to do. Turns out having to work last Friday may have been a good thing, after all.

57 days until the first Spring Training game.
94 days until Opening Day.

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Psa 51:15  O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.

Psa 86:1-2  Incline your ear, O LORD, and answer me, for I am poor and needy. Preserve my life, for I am godly; save your servant, who trusts in you—you are my God.

Psa 90:1-2  Lord, you have been our dwelling place in all generations. Before the mountains were brought forth, or ever you had formed the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.

Psa 85:9  Surely his salvation is near to those who fear him, that glory may dwell in our land.

(From Praying With the Psalms)

Psa 149  Praise the LORD! Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the godly! Let Israel be glad in his Maker; let the children of Zion rejoice in their King! Let them praise his name with dancing, making melody to him with tambourine and lyre! For the LORD takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with salvation. Let the godly exult in glory; let them sing for joy on their beds. Let the high praises of God be in their throats and two-edged swords in their hands, to execute vengeance on the nations and punishments on the peoples, to bind their kings with chains and their nobles with fetters of iron, to execute on them the judgment written! This is honor for all his godly ones. Praise the LORD!

“Let the godly exult in glory . . .” This shatters modern stereotypes of what a “godly” person must look like. There is no timidity or solemness, here. There is exultation, singing, dancing, raising “exuberant songs of praise as they use every resource of voice and body to express delight in the God who delights in them.”

“O God, forbid that I should ever turn your glorious gifts into something dull and humdrum. I want to be among your faithful who convincingly demonstrate the freedom with which you set us free, and exhibit the joy that can only be sung with a new song, in the name and Spirit of Jesus Christ. Amen.”

Father, I pray for this kind of exuberance to be a marker of my life. I have spent way too much of my life being sour and grumpy, allowing myself to be too easily offended or affected by other people and their choices. Teach me to rejoice in you and not be concerned so much with what other people do. Teach me that I don’t have to be first, or to even be considered at all. You have given life to me! What more do I need, especially from any other human being? Let me, instead, be the one who gives, the one who shows love and compassion to others, with no thought of myself. Teach me to be last.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. John 15:4

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

