Words

Today is Wednesday, January 4, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Love is a friendship set to music.” Joseph Campbell

Word of the Day

Emolument – profit, salary, or fees from office or employment; compensation for services.

Today is Pop Music Chart Day. Celebrated on January 4 of each year, it brings to mind how what we listen to is dictated to us. Personally, I try to stay away from radio stations whose playlists are determined by the Pop Music Charts. The current number 1 pop song is “Side to Side,” by Ariana Grande featuring Nicki Minaj. I’ve never heard it.

Moving right along . . .

It looks like the expected cold front moved in a little sooner than expected. It’s 31 degrees here, this morning, with a projected high of only 44. The good news is that there is little to no precipitation predicted through the weekend.

We are expecting our new “Instant Pot” pressure cooker today. Hopefully, it will arrive before I get home from work, so I can begin preparing one of the new recipes that we found. Our new LG oven is supposed to be delivered and installed Saturday. After that we’ll be “cookin’ with gas!” No. Wait. We’ll be cooking with electricity, so that phrase just doesn’t work.

52/89

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Psa 55:16-19  But I call to God, and the LORD will save me. Evening and morning and at noon I utter my complaint and moan, and he hears my voice. He redeems my soul in safety from the battle that I wage, for many are arrayed against me. God will give ear and humble them, he who is enthroned from of old, Selah. because they do not change and do not fear God.

Psa 54:1-2  O God, save me by your name, and vindicate me by your might. O God, hear my prayer; give ear to the words of my mouth.

Psa 116:13  I will lift up the cup of salvation and call on the name of the LORD

Psa 145:21  My mouth will speak the praise of the LORD, and let all flesh bless his holy name forever and ever.

(From Living the Message)

Words are obviously very important. Human begins are, arguably, the only species on the planet to use words. I suppose some folk might argue that animals use “words” in different languages, but that’s a topic for someone else to tackle.

“Poets are caretakers of language, the shepherds of words, keeping them from harm, exploitation, misuse.” Words don’t just mean something; “the are something.” Each word has its own sound and rhythm.

In the past couple of weeks, I have found myself gravitating more towards poetry. My attention was drawn to some beautiful poems about the transition from old to new years. The thing is, “poets are not primarily trying to tell us, or get us, to do something. By attending to words with playful discipline (or disciplined playfulness), they draw us into deeper respect for both words and the reality they set before us.”

Eugene Peterson uses words; he is in the word business. I don’t know if he considers himself a poet, but I have seen him craft some sentences and phrases in a beautiful way, saying things in ways that I could never say them. He says, “People often pay particular attention on the chance that God may be using my words to speak to them.” He, as do all of us, has a responsibility to use words “accurately and well.” This is not an easy task, is it? How often are we careless with our words? In our world, “words are used carelessly by some, cunningly by others.” May we strive to use our words well.

Col 4:6  Be gracious in your speech. The goal is to bring out the best in others in a conversation, not put them down, not cut them out.

Father, help me to use my words more carefully. In the past, I have been quite careless with words, to my shame. I always know, in retrospect, that I have made mistakes with words. Help me to think about what I say, and how it might affect those who hear me. May the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in your sight!

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

