“He Sees in Secret Just as Well”

Today is Thursday, January 5, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“I don’t want to achieve immortality through my work. I want to achieve it through not dying.” – Woody Allen

Word of the Day

Draconian – rigorous; unusually severe or cruel, as in Draconian punishment.

Today is Bird Day. That’s it. Just “Bird Day.” It’s interesting that we should get Bird Day in the midst of winter, when most birds have “flown the coop,” as it were, for warmer climates.

We got our Instant Pot pressure cooker, yesterday afternoon, and I promptly made macaroni and cheese in it, from a recipe that C found on the Interwebs. It turned out to be delicious, but when I first opened the cooker, after it was done, I thought it hadn’t worked. But as I stirred it up, it thickened, so it wound up being quite good. Friday, we are planning to try a pot roast in it.

Saturday, we are supposed to get our new oven/range. You never know how much you depend on something until you don’t have it. I mean, we can’t even make grilled cheese, you know??

Tonight, we have a church group meeting at 6:30, the first of semi-monthly meetings about our Night of Worship events. The next Night of Worship is this coming Saturday night (January 7). I’ll actually be leading three songs at this one!

Our pastor’s father will be having surgery this morning at 10:15. Any prayers would, of course, be appreciated!

51/88

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Psa 96:2-4  Sing to the LORD, bless his name; tell of his salvation from day to day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous works among all the peoples! For great is the LORD, and greatly to be praised; he is to be feared above all gods.

Psa 69:1  Save me, O God! For the waters have come up to my neck.

Psa 18:46  The LORD lives, and blessed be my rock, and exalted be the God of my salvation—

Psa 104:32  who looks on the earth and it trembles, who touches the mountains and they smoke!

(From The President’s Devotional)

“God is not like a human being; it is not important for God to have visible evidence so that he can see if his cause has been victorious or not; he sees in secret just as well.”~~Soren Kierkegaard, Works of Love

Psa 139:11-13  If I say, “Surely the darkness shall cover me, and the light about me be night,” even the darkness is not dark to you; the night is bright as the day, for darkness is as light with you. For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

“He sees in secret just as well,” says Kierkegaard. Where? God sees into our past. He sees all of the moments and events that have shaped us into who we are today. He sees into our present. He knows the things that give us secret joys, as well as the things that cause us hidden shame. He knows the hopes that we cannot utter, the things that cause us anxiety, which we seek to avoid. He also sees into our future. He knows what is possible, he knows what we are capable of. He knows what we cannot know.

God also sees something else that we cannot see. He sees his own nature. “God alone knows the expanse of love in his heart, the justice of his causes, the full measure of his power.”

If I am left to myself, I will grope in the dark. But even the most tentative reaching to the arms of my Savior will result in the confidence to walk on, even in the darkness, all because “he sees in secret just as well.”

“Dear Lord, when my vision is limited, help me learn to trust in you. I know that you see. Amen.”

Father, give me this confidence in you! I believe that you see all things! I actually take great comfort in the fact that you know everything that there is to know about me. Psalm 139 has long been a favorite of mine, and I celebrate your complete and utter knowledge of everything that is me. Yes, even when I sin, I am glad that you know me completely. I truly makes confession so much easier, knowing that it is impossible for me to hide anything from you. I think where I waver the most is in the knowledge of the future. Help me trust that you know where I am going, what your plans are for me. Help me to trust in your providence, provision, and protection. Help me to trust in you.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

