Dance

Today is Friday, January 6, 2017.

Quote of the Day

“Pair up in threes.” – Yogi Berra

Word of the Day

Factitious – produced by humans rather than by natural forces; formed by or adapted to an artificial or conventional standard.

Today is Three Kings Day, more commonly known as Epiphany. It is the day traditionally associated with the arrival of the “Three Wise Men” at the house of Joseph, Mary, and Jesus. The Bible, of course, does not number the wise men, or “magi.” It has been assumed that there were three, because three gifts were brought.

We finally made it to Friday, in a week that seems to have lasted several weeks, at least to me. The current temperature is 25 degrees, and the high today is only supposed to reach 26. But I see no snow on the ground, as I suspected would happen. It’s supposed to be back up in the seventies by next Tuesday.

Tomorrow is a big day. We’re supposed to get our new oven/range at some point, and we have our monthly Night of Worship tomorrow night. I’ll be at the house for NoW by 3:00 PM tomorrow, to set up and practice, so that event takes up most of the day.

50/87

TODAY’S DEVOTIONAL

Psa 105:4  Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!

Psa 27:7-9  Hear, O LORD, when I cry aloud; be gracious to me and answer me! You have said, “Seek my face.” My heart says to you, “Your face, LORD, do I seek.” Hide not your face from me. Turn not your servant away in anger, O you who have been my help. Cast me not off; forsake me not, O God of my salvation!

Psa 76:7  But you, you are to be feared! Who can stand before you when once your anger is roused?

Psa 34:4  I sought the LORD, and he answered me and delivered me from all my fears.

(From The President’s Devotional)

“Yes, to dance beneath the diamond sky with one hand waving free,
Silhouetted by the sea, circled by the circus sands,
With all memory and fate driven deep beneath the waves,
Let me forget about today until tomorrow.”~~Bob Dylan, Mr. Tambourine Man

2Sa 6:14  And David danced before the LORD with all his might. And David was wearing a linen ephod.

“David, the king, the ruler of the nation of Israel, the man on whom the mantle of God rested, and from whose lineage would emerge the Savior of all humankind . . . David, in wild abandon, danced.”

David danced because God was good; David danced because he was still alive, in spite of the best intentions of his enemies; he danced to give glory and honor to “the God who had formed him in his mother’s womb.”

Perhaps we should pray for some of that wild, reckless abandon, today. “Let’s seek out the moments when the seriousness of life melts away in the heat of God’s glory, and we are free to let loose, shout, and glorify God. And dance.”

“Dear God, let me never be too serious to experience pure joy, to appreciate all that you have done, and even, when the time is right, to dance. Amen.”

(From Living the Message)

Mat 2:1-12  After Jesus was born in Bethlehem village, Judah territory—this was during Herod’s kingship—a band of scholars arrived in Jerusalem from the East. They asked around, “Where can we find and pay homage to the newborn King of the Jews? We observed a star in the eastern sky that signaled his birth. We’re on pilgrimage to worship him.” 
When word of their inquiry got to Herod, he was terrified—and not Herod alone, but most of Jerusalem as well. Herod lost no time. He gathered all the high priests and religion scholars in the city together and asked, “Where is the Messiah supposed to be born?” 
They told him, “Bethlehem, Judah territory. The prophet Micah wrote it plainly: 
It’s you, Bethlehem, in Judah’s land,
no longer bringing up the rear.
From you will come the leader
who will shepherd-rule my people, my Israel.” 
Herod then arranged a secret meeting with the scholars from the East. Pretending to be as devout as they were, he got them to tell him exactly when the birth-announcement star appeared. Then he told them the prophecy about Bethlehem, and said, “Go find this child. Leave no stone unturned. As soon as you find him, send word and I’ll join you at once in your worship.” 
Instructed by the king, they set off. Then the star appeared again, the same star they had seen in the eastern skies. It led them on until it hovered over the place of the child. They could hardly contain themselves: They were in the right place! They had arrived at the right time! 
They entered the house and saw the child in the arms of Mary, his mother. Overcome, they kneeled and worshiped him. Then they opened their luggage and presented gifts: gold, frankincense, myrrh. 
In a dream, they were warned not to report back to Herod. So they worked out another route, left the territory without being seen, and returned to their own country.
(The Message)

Father, on this day of Epiphany, help me seek the face of my Savior, just as these kings from the East sought to see Jesus. And then, give me the exuberant joy that King David had. Help me to dance.

Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

Grace and peace, friends.

Leave a Reply

